Author Topic: How to Start the Game Without the Launcher  (Read 136376 times)

Offline Pam

  • Community Manager
  • Administrator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 15236
How to Start the Game Without the Launcher
« on: June 08, 2010, 05:40:13 PM »
Updated: Aug.30.2018

These instructions are for Windows only and may only work with the pre-2012 disc and Steam versions.

*This may not work for the Origin version*

There's a way to bypass the launcher and go straight to starting the game. To bypass the launcher:

1. Click on Start in lower left corner.
2. Click on Computer.
3. Double click C: drive.
4. Click Program Files or Program Files (x86).
5. Double Click Electronic Arts.
6. Double Click on the Base Game folder.
7. Double Click Game.
8. Double Click Bin.
9. Look for a file called TS3W.exe file, right-click on it and select send to desktop.
-- See below for path.

To create a new shortcut to Sims 3.

Go to: C:\Program Files (x86)\Origin Games\The Sims 3\Base Game\Game\Bin and on the TS3W.exe file, right-click and send to desktop.

** Depending on where the game is installed, the path might be different.

 -- Please be aware, there is a bug with the launcher at the moment, that if you use it you may need to manually close it. Or use Task Manager to close it.

Open Task manager (Ctrl-Shift-Esc) search for a file called Sims3Launcher (32 bit) Right click on it and select End Task.

If you're using Mac, or the Steam version, please see this thread on the AHQ Sims 3 Forum for troubleshooting tips.

Sims 3 Launcher Running in Tray While Playing
https://answers.ea.com/t5/The-Sims-3/Sims-3-launcher-running-in-tray-while-playing/td-p/6993691
Read and heed the Forum Rules, please!

Support the site when you purchase online!
Dreamweaver Immortal Dynasty
Dreamweaver 4 x 4 Dynasty
Pam's Sims 4 World Blog

"Half of my posts are correcting people. The other 49% is moving threads."

takeng04

  • Guest
Re: How to Start the Game Without the Launcher
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2010, 12:30:04 PM »
 ;D

Hi, does this mean I can play the game without the need to insert the DVD everytime? What is the next step after I found the file?

Thanks!



Registered members do not see ads on this Forum. Register here.

Offline Saltypaws

  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 4415
Re: How to Start the Game Without the Launcher
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2010, 03:21:05 PM »
You still have to use the CD, Pam was just giving people an option, for instance, you could not play the game via the game launcher, which has happened.  She is giving us a workaround for that, you always have to have CD.  Of course there are the people that get their game from certain sites, but, that is the only way you don't need a CD.
Is it true that cannibals don't eat clowns because they taste funny?

Read forum rules
Riches to Rags

lianne

  • Guest
Re: How to Start the Game Without the Launcher
« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2010, 09:55:18 PM »
Actually it's legal (in the UK anyway) to use a crack so that you don't need your CD - on the condition that you do actually own the game. It basically replicates how it would work if you'd bought the game digitally and didn't have a disc, by letting you run it straight from your computer.

takeng04

  • Guest
Re: How to Start the Game Without the Launcher
« Reply #4 on: July 28, 2010, 12:27:29 PM »
Actually it's legal (in the UK anyway) to use a crack so that you don't need your CD - on the condition that you do actually own the game. It basically replicates how it would work if you'd bought the game digitally and didn't have a disc, by letting you run it straight from your computer.

From where I am, I don't see any harm in using crack, hope you can tell me how. My intention is to spare my drive from getting used incessantly and now it resulted to getting broken. I bought an external drive now to be able to play the game. I have til Ambitions exp. pk.

Offline Metropolis Man

  • Tournament/Dynasty Coordinator
  • Administrator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 10248
Re: How to Start the Game Without the Launcher
« Reply #5 on: July 28, 2010, 01:43:15 PM »
From where I am, I don't see any harm in using crack, hope you can tell me how. My intention is to spare my drive from getting used incessantly and now it resulted to getting broken. I bought an external drive now to be able to play the game. I have til Ambitions exp. pk.

No, you will not be told how. Our forum is not the place to discuss CD cracks.

lianne

  • Guest
Re: How to Start the Game Without the Launcher
« Reply #6 on: July 28, 2010, 03:25:48 PM »
I agree, maybe I shouldn't have mentioned it at all but I would never go any further than that on this forum. Sorry guys, I'll keep it zipped.



Registered members do not see ads on this Forum. Register here.

winnow

  • Guest
Re: How to Start the Game Without the Launcher
« Reply #7 on: August 02, 2010, 10:46:04 PM »
If Pam's instructions don't work, you can also try to launch the game from the main Sims 3 (base game) folder in program files x86, not from the latest expansion folder (step 6). My game would not load when I used the application icon in the Ambitions folder but it would load when I used the application icon in the Sims 3 (base game) folder.

Offline gmyers2486

  • Nooboo
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: How to Start the Game Without the Launcher
« Reply #8 on: July 07, 2011, 01:19:01 PM »
;D

Hi, does this mean I can play the game without the need to insert the DVD everytime? What is the next step after I found the file?

Thanks!

When you LEGALLY buy a game, you can register it with the EA Download Manager, now called origin.  Every game comes with a digital copy which you can download and not need to use the disk every time.  I like it because it keeps my disks from getting scratched.  Here's the link: http://source.origin.com/about

Offline BellaClo

  • Immortal
  • *****
  • Posts: 512
  • Has entered city planning mode
    • Reticulated Plumbobs
Re: How to Start the Game Without the Launcher
« Reply #9 on: July 28, 2011, 05:11:35 AM »
Since patch 1.22.9 (released after Generations EP), this method has changed. The game is not launched anymore from a '.exe' in the last EP/SP folder, but from a generic TS3W.exe in the base game program folder.

Follow the steps 1 to 5 in the opening post from Pam.
6. Double click on your base game folder, so The Sims 3
7. Double click on Game folder
8. Double click on Bin folder
9. Look for TS3W.exe, right click and select Copy, go back to your desktop, right click and select Paste Shortcut.

The complete path to the game is thus:
"C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\The Sims 3\Game\Bin\TS3W.exe"   if you have a 32-bit OS.
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Electronic Arts\The Sims 3\Game\Bin\TS3W.exe"   if you have a 64-bit OS.

Et voilą!


Follow me @ RETICULATED PLUMBOBS and Happy Simming!

Offline Xanatos

  • Townie
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: How to Start the Game Without the Launcher
« Reply #10 on: October 27, 2011, 02:12:52 PM »
Thanks so much Pam my launcher had just stopped working and then I saw this article. You are a life saver.  :D

Beelz

  • Guest
Re: How to Start the Game Without the Launcher
« Reply #11 on: October 28, 2011, 05:03:24 AM »
Agreed, thx Pam. My launcher also stopped working yesterday (spooky), but this work around worked.

Offline Pam

  • Community Manager
  • Administrator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 15236
Re: How to Start the Game Without the Launcher
« Reply #12 on: October 28, 2011, 03:28:26 PM »
Yeah, there were some problems with the launcher on EA's end.  Hopefully they've gotten it fixed now.
Read and heed the Forum Rules, please!

Support the site when you purchase online!
Dreamweaver Immortal Dynasty
Dreamweaver 4 x 4 Dynasty
Pam's Sims 4 World Blog

"Half of my posts are correcting people. The other 49% is moving threads."

Sahteene

  • Guest
Re: How to Start the Game Without the Launcher
« Reply #13 on: November 10, 2011, 03:39:06 AM »
hi, i have these words on how to start the game without the launcher. When I launch the game through steam the Launcher portal thing hangs there and doesn't do much. Sometimes the game won't start but when it does the background song is still playing and the launcher takes up system memory and CPU usage, slowing down my game. The song can be muted easily but the CPU problem persists.

If I leave the launcher on I get a message saying "Requires internet connection to connect to portal..."

I guess I can bypass this by starting the .exe without the launcher but I don't know how.

Offline thesimslover828

  • Playing The Sims 3 again, WooHoo!!!
  • Immortal
  • *****
  • Posts: 903
  • Death To The Visitors, V Is For Victory
Re: How to Start the Game Without the Launcher
« Reply #14 on: February 02, 2012, 03:39:32 AM »
I never use the launcher, but how I do it is pin the game to the taskbar. I use windowed mode but I wouldn't think you would have to. I just like it like that because I can look up stuff on the internet, (the forum) while I'm playing the game. It's very useful for me. I have windows 7 by the way so that might help I don't know.
We are of peace, always but this is war.
We are of peace, always.
We'll help build a resistance. We have to fight.

When all you've ever loved has been stolen from you, sometimes all you have left is revenge.
For the truly wronged, satisfaction can be found in one of two places,  absolute forgiveness or mortal vindication. This is not a story about forgiveness. When deception cuts this deep, someone has to pay.

Offline Teacup Chihuahua

  • Occult
  • ****
  • Posts: 361
Re: How to Start the Game Without the Launcher
« Reply #15 on: February 02, 2012, 01:10:08 PM »
Pam thank you so much for this iformation ;D have been having problems with the launcher especially after i installed Pets Was becoming very frustrated :o ??? thank you once again ;D

Offline MinGraphics

  • Nooboo
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: How to Start the Game Without the Launcher
« Reply #16 on: February 01, 2013, 04:28:48 PM »
This no longer works, my launcher still opens  :( 

DaDewd

  • Guest
Re: How to Start the Game Without the Launcher
« Reply #17 on: June 21, 2013, 04:34:15 AM »
Hi.

what doesn't work no longer, and what did you do ? It works just fine for me.

When you start the sims3 on the loading screen it will say what game you're starting 'from' - usually the last installed exp. pack. If you start the main game .exe (ts3w.exe) if works fine. If you start the .exe file in some expansion pack, it works fine too.

It's nice to skip the launcher I guess. Using the launcher, one can tell the individual exp. packs' versions, and main game version. I do recall there was some launcher probs once. Gladly, EA doesnt update individual packs anymore (phew) but simply a general update that updates all the exp. packs.

IIRC, sometimes, when quitting the launcher, after quitting the game, the launcher crashes. Didn't matter to me, as I was already quitting the game ;) I consider that a windows problem, like most other things, hehe.

game copy world, and the patches scrolls (search the net) , all have the newest sims3 files, if you're tired of inserting a dvd, or switching dvd's..dont let them force you to insert a dvd all the time - you already installed the game, and there really isnt any need or reason it shud be asking for dvd all the time. I keep a driver dvd in my dvd drive most of the time, or a movie, and i dont switch any dvd's around. I don't use the 'upload' feature of launcher, and my steam seems to crash more than it actually works, so thats just a problem i chose not to fix. thumbs down to steam.. sims3 online is still tabu for me ;)


brappl

  • Guest
Re: How to Start the Game Without the Launcher
« Reply #18 on: June 22, 2013, 07:15:51 AM »
Until I saw these threads I only started via Launcher which was often problematic.  This is a handy work around.  My latest EP is Showtime which I downloaded from Origin so it is not in the usual Electronic Arts folder.  I found the .exe file here:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Origin Games\The Sims 3 Showtime\Game\Bin\TS3EP06.exe"

Ran the game both ways checking CPU and using to TS3EP06.exe uses less CPU.

Offline Skilletnap

  • Llama Wrangler
  • **
  • Posts: 98
Re: How to Start the Game Without the Launcher
« Reply #19 on: June 22, 2013, 12:22:26 PM »
Someone found way for Mac users to do that as well.
Quote
From Tessalion13 on Bear Mountain Creations:

"1) cntrl+click on your sims 3 icon, select "show in finder"
2) cntrl+click on the latest EP/SP, select "show package contents"
3) select folder: contents -> resources -> transgaming -> cdrive -> program files -> electronic arts -> highest EP/SP -> game -> bin
4) In this folder you're looking for a file marked TS3EP03.exe (if LN is your latest) or TS3SP03.exe (OLS)
5)Double click on the .exe and the game will start, bypassing the launcher

It looks like a mouthful but it's not hard to find when you know how to get there.
What I usually do is cntrl+click the .exe and select "make alias" then move that shortcut to the desktop so I don't have to go through all those files all the time. I use the .exe to fire up the game all the time except for when I want to install something through the launcher. In my experience the launcher is a clunky temperamental thing that I want to avoid when I can, I may be imagining it but I feel like the whole process is faster starting the game by skipping the launcher."

Offline GoFeesh

  • Got any 3s?
  • Nooboo
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: How to Start the Game Without the Launcher
« Reply #20 on: April 02, 2014, 11:06:53 AM »
This no longer works, my launcher still opens  :(
Agreed. I have a newer version of the game that requires Origin and an internet connection to play. I do have a CD, but when trying to open the game via the file in my bin folder (under Origin, not the EA folder) it forces me to open and sign in to Origin, which then routes me through the launcher.

Offline Denbur

  • NPC
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: How to Start the Game Without the Launcher
« Reply #21 on: April 27, 2014, 11:59:07 PM »
same i have same issue still launches origin regardless what you try :(