Author Topic: The Sims 3 Life States Dynasty Challenge  (Read 451068 times)

Offline enderkay

  • Llama Wrangler
  • **
  • Posts: 89
Re: The Sims 3 Life States Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #1000 on: November 03, 2012, 06:10:36 PM »
I was thinking the same thing, except that spouses can come and go, so the thing about them never leaving is false for this dynasty.
Yep, founder and heirs are the only ones that have to stay in the household.
Haha oops, must've gotten confused. Hubs is out of town for the weekend so I've been a bit sleep-deprived. :'(

Thank you everyone for being patient and not causing too much trouble while we talked it over.

There was confusion based on everything that was going on at the time.   So we're clear - the only people allowed to move in are potential spouses that are brought in by the heir that they are going to marry. Marriage does not have to happen immediately so you can continue to do as many have done before. 
Thanks for clearing things up Ricalynn. :) But like Odie said, we do eventually have to get married? If so, I assume it'd have to be before Try For Baby, right?

Offline Odie

  • Occult
  • ****
  • Posts: 499
  • Dutch mommy living in Norway
Re: The Sims 3 Life States Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #1001 on: November 03, 2012, 06:23:45 PM »
we do eventually have to get married? If so, I assume it'd have to be before Try For Baby, right?

I have to disagree here. This would probably mean that many people have failed the challenge and since it is not in the rules, that is just unfair.
It is not in the rules that you have to get married. Only that the heir has to be marriageble age when he/she invites the future spouse/partner to move in. I strongly feel that we should let that rule as is and not make marriage a must.
Problem? Don't panic! There is always a solution. You just have to find it  :D



Registered members do not see ads on this Forum. Register here.

Offline Ricalynn

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 8431
  • Addicted to Dynasties? *shady eyes* Not me.
Re: The Sims 3 Life States Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #1002 on: November 03, 2012, 06:24:59 PM »
Marriage is not required in the rules.  Nothing says you have to marry just says that you have to have one specific partner to make a baby and they are the only ones allowed to be moved in.
Origin ID: Ricalynn
Current Active Stories: Artie's TS4 Dynasty || Grim Rivalries

Please read and follow the Forum Rules.

Stories: Artie | The Race | Grim Chronicles | Revenge | Licious

Offline Odie

  • Occult
  • ****
  • Posts: 499
  • Dutch mommy living in Norway
Re: The Sims 3 Life States Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #1003 on: November 03, 2012, 06:26:10 PM »
Marriage is not required in the rules.  Nothing says you have to marry just says that you have to have one specific partner to make a baby and they are the only ones allowed to be moved in.

Thank you :)
Problem? Don't panic! There is always a solution. You just have to find it  :D

Offline Metropolis Man

  • Tournament/Dynasty Coordinator
  • Administrator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 10697
Re: The Sims 3 Life States Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #1004 on: November 03, 2012, 06:54:15 PM »
Yeah, sorry everyone. I point the finger directly at myself for confusing things a bit. Haha.

TheTripWasInfraGreen

  • Guest
Re: The Sims 3 Life States Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #1005 on: November 03, 2012, 07:21:52 PM »
Don't worry Metro, I'll send you e-cookies of forgiveness.

I'm assuming that I have to wait for an heir to celebrate their YA birthday before turning an Imaginary Friend real (with the intentions to marry them, of course). I find it to be cute when a child makes their IF real, but I'll live without it if I must.

Offline Ricalynn

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 8431
  • Addicted to Dynasties? *shady eyes* Not me.
Re: The Sims 3 Life States Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #1006 on: November 03, 2012, 07:29:34 PM »
An heir's spouse can only be brought into the family when the heir reaches marriageable age.  This includes IFs which means it has to be YA lifestage.   And it has to be the heir's IF not a sibling's.
Origin ID: Ricalynn
Current Active Stories: Artie's TS4 Dynasty || Grim Rivalries

Please read and follow the Forum Rules.

Stories: Artie | The Race | Grim Chronicles | Revenge | Licious



Registered members do not see ads on this Forum. Register here.

TheTripWasInfraGreen

  • Guest
Re: The Sims 3 Life States Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #1007 on: November 03, 2012, 07:31:51 PM »
Of course it was going to be the heir's IF. And thank you. :)

Offline Rowan

  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 3697
  • Formerly known as ombradellarosa <3
Re: The Sims 3 Life States Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #1008 on: November 03, 2012, 08:15:20 PM »
I've cleared out memory, ResetSim *, cleared out inventories, deleted memories, and gone to Edit Town to save. Nothing has worked. Can I have permission to go back to a previous save? Or should I just start over? I'm 30+ weeks into the game and maybe I should just accept that I waited too long to do all the requirements and try again.
Please read and follow the Forum Rules.

   
By samoht04

Offline Ricalynn

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 8431
  • Addicted to Dynasties? *shady eyes* Not me.
Re: The Sims 3 Life States Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #1009 on: November 03, 2012, 08:36:33 PM »
I've cleared out memory, ResetSim *, cleared out inventories, deleted memories, and gone to Edit Town to save. Nothing has worked. Can I have permission to go back to a previous save? Or should I just start over? I'm 30+ weeks into the game and maybe I should just accept that I waited too long to do all the requirements and try again.

I'm not entirely certain what you're asking.  If something you've done is causing errors then what's to say you won't get the same errors in a previous save?  You're talking about Error 12s right?  Do you always try to save at the same point? If so, have you tried saving at different points or waiting longer to save to see if it's something about that particular Sim Day/Time?  Have you deleted your cache files and DCBackup files (all but ccmerged)?  Have you deleted the thumbnail files? 

Have you considered deleting the world cache files?  It's not always recommended but it might help.  Of course, it's not guaranteed that you have these files but if you do they would be located Documents > Electronic Arts > The Sims 3 > WorldCaches.  Only delete the world you're having trouble with.    Are you ever running anything other than Sims?  Have you tried logging out of Simport while trying to save?  Make sure that Sims is the only thing running - no browser, no IM service, nothing but Sims.
Origin ID: Ricalynn
Current Active Stories: Artie's TS4 Dynasty || Grim Rivalries

Please read and follow the Forum Rules.

Stories: Artie | The Race | Grim Chronicles | Revenge | Licious

Offline Rowan

  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 3697
  • Formerly known as ombradellarosa <3
Re: The Sims 3 Life States Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #1010 on: November 03, 2012, 08:44:55 PM »
Yes, Error 12s. I've tried saving at all different points between seven at night and seven the next morning. I haven't tried waiting longer yet, no. I delete my caches and DCBackup (except ccmerged) more than daily. I've never heard of thumbnail files, so no I haven't deleted those. I'll try deleting those and the world cache files.
I only ever run Sims while I'm playing, I don't even keep a Finder window open (or whatever that's called on a PC). I have not tried logging out but sometimes I'm not logged in in the first place and it still doesn't work. I will try deleting the thumbnails and world caches and wait 24 Sim hours before saving and see if that works, but I'm scared that I'm having these problems. I am so torn between trying to make this work and worrying about the future of the game. I know no one understands better than you, Rica. Maybe I should just start over, as much as I don't want to  :(
Please read and follow the Forum Rules.

   
By samoht04

Offline Odie

  • Occult
  • ****
  • Posts: 499
  • Dutch mommy living in Norway
Re: The Sims 3 Life States Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #1011 on: November 03, 2012, 08:53:14 PM »
I thought error 12 is most likely caused by a shortage of memory. How much do you have? Any chance you can add some GB?
Problem? Don't panic! There is always a solution. You just have to find it  :D

Offline Rowan

  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 3697
  • Formerly known as ombradellarosa <3
Re: The Sims 3 Life States Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #1012 on: November 03, 2012, 08:54:56 PM »
I have 8.45GB open. I realised I had some files taking up space that I could delete. It was closer to 3. I don't know that I could really add more. It's my husband's computer and I don't understand it very well. I'm hoping to get a laptop soon but I don't know when that will be.
Please read and follow the Forum Rules.

   
By samoht04

Online sdhoey

  • Challenge Board Assistant
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 5395
    • sdhoeys Sims & More
Re: The Sims 3 Life States Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #1013 on: November 03, 2012, 09:02:16 PM »
I have 8.45GB open. I realised I had some files taking up space that I could delete. It was closer to 3. I don't know that I could really add more. It's my husband's computer and I don't understand it very well. I'm hoping to get a laptop soon but I don't know when that will be.

I was getting the error12 and it was from the RAM, physical memory not the harddrive memory. Do you know how much RAM you have?

Offline Rowan

  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 3697
  • Formerly known as ombradellarosa <3
Re: The Sims 3 Life States Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #1014 on: November 03, 2012, 09:04:21 PM »
How do I check?

Edit: I found it. I have 2GB.
Please read and follow the Forum Rules.

   
By samoht04

Offline Odie

  • Occult
  • ****
  • Posts: 499
  • Dutch mommy living in Norway
Re: The Sims 3 Life States Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #1015 on: November 03, 2012, 09:08:32 PM »
I have 8.45GB open. I realised I had some files taking up space that I could delete. It was closer to 3. I don't know that I could really add more. It's my husband's computer and I don't understand it very well. I'm hoping to get a laptop soon but I don't know when that will be.

I don't understand completely what you mean. Do you have 8.45 GB left to use? That should be more than enough. Or did you only have 3? That is too little and could cause for error 12. So I hope you have closed some programs then.
I am talking about RAM btw :)

If you are talking about only 3 to 8 GB disk space left, I advice you to free up much more space. In that case, 3 to 8 GB is nothing. A full disk makes for a slow pc and that could also cause errors in the game.


Edit: You guys beat me to it ;).  2 GB RAM is not enough unfortunately. This is most likely the cause of your error 12. I would advice at least 4, but 8 is better even.
Problem? Don't panic! There is always a solution. You just have to find it  :D

Offline Rowan

  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 3697
  • Formerly known as ombradellarosa <3
Re: The Sims 3 Life States Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #1016 on: November 03, 2012, 09:15:04 PM »
Do you have to buy it? See, I don't know how this stuff works! Am I never going to get past a certain point without more RAM?

By the way, I don't have any world caches for Moonlight Falls.
Please read and follow the Forum Rules.

   
By samoht04

Offline Silverbella

  • Occult
  • ****
  • Posts: 333
Re: The Sims 3 Life States Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #1017 on: November 03, 2012, 09:22:20 PM »
Unfortunately if you're only on generation 2 when you started having these problems I don't think restarting and trying to progress faster will allow you to get to the end of your dynasty...by the time you get to the later generations it will be worse no matter how much you rush through :(

Offline Rowan

  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 3697
  • Formerly known as ombradellarosa <3
Re: The Sims 3 Life States Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #1018 on: November 03, 2012, 09:46:45 PM »
You're right. Even if I sped up, I wouldn't necessarily get through seven generations.
Please read and follow the Forum Rules.

   
By samoht04

Offline Shirin

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 1497
Re: The Sims 3 Life States Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #1019 on: November 04, 2012, 02:14:55 AM »
Thanks for the clarifications, Metro, Rica.

I was asking partly because of the bug others have been having (as my gen 3 is still a child, he's not even close to marriageable yet), and partly because I think I found him a genie spouse. As I've never ever ever played a genie before (or use them for anything but Eternal Gobs of Money), I don't even know if he could have become engaged to the genie prior to being freed from the lamp.

This works out perfectly, I appreciate it. :)

Offline samoht04

  • Building Contest Coordinator
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 9401
Re: The Sims 3 Life States Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #1020 on: November 04, 2012, 02:18:12 AM »
An heir's spouse can only be brought into the family when the heir reaches marriageable age.  This includes IFs which means it has to be YA lifestage.   And it has to be the heir's IF not a sibling's.

So does this mean that any Genie Spouses have to be purchased by the Heir that will marry them?
Please read the Forum Rules![/center]

Offline Snufflesxx

  • Sherlockian
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 1934
  • Every puzzle has an answer
Re: The Sims 3 Life States Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #1021 on: November 04, 2012, 04:13:56 AM »
I've done a little vote thing so people can decide who is the heir for my next attempt. I know that for my heir who had all random traits, they must stay the same and for the spares who had chosen traits then they have to be rolled, but I need to know if I can change the life state of any of the three to begin a new one.

So could I make an heir/spare who was a human into a vampire for my next attempt?
** My Stories **

"I'm not a psychopath, I'm a high-functioning sociopath. Do your research." - Sherlock

Offline Shirin

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 1497
Re: The Sims 3 Life States Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #1022 on: November 04, 2012, 04:42:53 AM »
So does this mean that any Genie Spouses have to be purchased by the Heir that will marry them?

I hope not! At least with an IF, you can control what gender you get; genies are more hit 'n miss. Also, if you don't buy a lamp, would that mean the heir has to be responsible for finding a lamp with the correct gender of genie?

Offline ratchie

  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 5423
Re: The Sims 3 Life States Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #1023 on: November 04, 2012, 05:32:26 AM »
My feelings on genie spouses are that the heir should be the one to build up the relationship and release them from the lamp when the heir is of marriageable age.Metro,Rica what do you think.

Rachel
Please follow the forum rules.

Offline ladyaya

  • The Epic Panda-Cat Lover
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 1184
Re: The Sims 3 Life States Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #1024 on: November 04, 2012, 07:15:45 AM »
My feelings on genie spouses are that the heir should be the one to build up the relationship and release them from the lamp when the heir is of marriageable age.Metro,Rica what do you think.

Rachel

Would that mean that if you're going for a genie spouse, only the heir to marry them can open any genie lamp found?