Author Topic: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge  (Read 1447185 times)

Online Trip

  • Challenge Board Assistant
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 4252
  • Deep fried since 1994
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10025 on: September 18, 2014, 07:43:53 AM »
No mods means no mods, unless someone else on the team is willing to make a concession.
No respect, no chance, cease and desist when I chant-

Forum Rules / DecaDynasty

Offline Nutella

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 2883
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10026 on: September 18, 2014, 08:46:48 AM »
Welcome to our Forum, Affie.  The Consort Age mod is technically a mod, it updates the adults and elders every night to simulate an aging process.  I know it does not seem like it affects gameplay, but it is in the game and runs every sim night. 

If you want your story to belong in our hall of fame, I'm afraid I have to agree with Trip, no mods.  However you are welcome to play your dynasty any ways you want (with mods) if you aren't aiming for hall of fame. :)



Registered members do not see ads on this Forum. Register here.

Offline Affie

  • Nooboo
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10027 on: September 18, 2014, 09:31:15 AM »
Thanks for the Welcome. :) Glad to hear the Hall of Fame is still going even with the Sims 4.

Thanks for the quick answer, too! I'm going to remove the mod as I'm shooting for the Hall of Fame. I just wanted to double check before I took it out. I normally play a heavily modded game, but I think playing a 'Vanilla' game for a change is going to be fun. I'm excited. :)

Edit: I have a second question.  Does the Immortal have to have a child specifically before eating Ambrosia? I didn't see an heir requirement in the list of things a Sim has to do before consuming Ambrosia, and part of my strategy would be a male founder who has his heir after eating Ambrosia. (So he can focus on all of his skills and challenges before dealing with being a parent.) Elder males can father a child at any point in time, so I'm assuming this would work. Would this be acceptable as far as the rules go?

Online Trip

  • Challenge Board Assistant
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 4252
  • Deep fried since 1994
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10028 on: September 18, 2014, 09:58:30 AM »
Male immortals can have their ambrosia before having an heir. I can think of at least three dynasties where it happened.
No respect, no chance, cease and desist when I chant-

Forum Rules / DecaDynasty

Offline Affie

  • Nooboo
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10029 on: September 18, 2014, 11:06:10 AM »
Male immortals can have their ambrosia before having an heir. I can think of at least three dynasties where it happened.

Thanks very much! :)

Offline dontmindme

  • Immortal
  • *****
  • Posts: 566
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10030 on: September 20, 2014, 02:04:36 PM »
Hi, guys, this is a quick question. I made clones of two female sims who lived in full households in the hopes that my sims could try for baby with them (full house+clone=clone kicked out into wild/their own household was my basic thinking). Now that I've made the clones, it looks like they're in a massive household with many other EA spawned townies and can't have kids. Is there a way to change/fix this? I really don't want those families' genes dying off yet. Thanks.

Online Trip

  • Challenge Board Assistant
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 4252
  • Deep fried since 1994
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10031 on: September 20, 2014, 02:16:00 PM »
Did you do this with the Clone Drone elixir? I can't think of a way to get them out of that household (it's the Service NPC household and I've never seen a sim leave it).
No respect, no chance, cease and desist when I chant-

Forum Rules / DecaDynasty



Registered members do not see ads on this Forum. Register here.

Offline dontmindme

  • Immortal
  • *****
  • Posts: 566
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10032 on: September 20, 2014, 02:25:04 PM »
Yeah, I did it with the elixir; don't have room in the household for actual clones. Aw, man, well, there goes that plan.

Offline Lisa46

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 1306
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10033 on: September 20, 2014, 02:37:40 PM »
It's ok, that was a really good idea. If only it worked  :'(

Offline dontmindme

  • Immortal
  • *****
  • Posts: 566
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10034 on: September 20, 2014, 02:45:07 PM »
I know *sniffles* those families have such awesome genes. Guess I gotta hope that someone gets bitten or suddenly changes into a fairy.

Curveball

  • Guest
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10035 on: September 20, 2014, 04:19:03 PM »
I was wondering if we could put up pets for adoption. My first instinct said no, since they're sims and sims can't move out, but it seems from what I'm reading of the riding supermax strategies that I'm wrong and it's allowed >_>

Offline bubbles

  • Dynasty Novice
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 1478
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10036 on: September 20, 2014, 04:42:12 PM »
Pets are allowed to come and go as you/they please. At least, that was what I was told when I asked a similar question last year.
Bubbles's Workshop
Friends are like potatoes; if you eat them, they die. My friends friend.

Offline Nutella

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 2883
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10037 on: September 20, 2014, 04:49:17 PM »
Pets are allowed to come and go as you/they please.

Correct.

Offline Deklitch

  • Nemesis of Reality
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 2568
  • Iceland has over 50 words for snow!
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10038 on: September 21, 2014, 06:07:05 PM »
Booo!

I have, of course, run into a glitch with my Generation 2 immortal and her work. Allow me to explain ...

I had her complete the Self Employed Sculpting Career as her maxed career and Sculpting as her supermaxed skill. For the purposes of photography (police car for around town and supercop for best in class) for Gen 3, and also to get her remaining Black Ops, I switched her to Law Enforcement Career. She was able to pick up the job no problem, but then when I sent her to work, she walks into the police station and then out of it. So I check that she's in uniform, and she is. So I have her quit and rejoin law enforcement. Same thing happened.

Then I had her quit law enforcement and join investigator profession. She was able to pick up and accept the first case, no problems, it was the one in which she needs to find blackmail on someone. I was also able to complete it. Then I returned and picked up a second case. It was one that required me to use psychic powers on a case at the police station, which resulted in the same thing as me going to work at the police station (she walks in and out straight away). It was within the correct hours and everything for that case. So I cancelled that one, and got the 'study at home' case. I did so, I had the sim buy and read the third logic book. She got a level in logic, and then two levels, but the opp wasn't completed. I cancelled it, and had the sim try for another case, but she keeps on walking into the station, staying there for seconds and walking out, with the instruction to pick up a new job dropping out of he queue. That has happened about three or four times. I don't know if it is the sim or the police station that is causing the problem and wanted to know what my options are regarding this.

My founder is still in her job as a Master Forger at the Abandoned Warehouse. She has no trouble going in there, working her shift and returning home again. My kids are going to school and back via bus without a problem. And my Generation 2's work vehicle turned up while she was in law enforcement. I have another sim in the household who I could try to have join the law enforcement career. I have tried resetting the sim as well.

Anyway, I'm thinking it is possibly either the sim or the police station that is buggy. What can I do/try to get through this?

Online Trip

  • Challenge Board Assistant
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 4252
  • Deep fried since 1994
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10039 on: September 21, 2014, 06:11:33 PM »
I'd first test it with another sim if you can. If the bug still happens to them, do you have a spare property either bought or able to be bought? You could try placing a new police station rabbithole on that if you think that the rabbithole itself is bugged.
No respect, no chance, cease and desist when I chant-

Forum Rules / DecaDynasty

Offline Deklitch

  • Nemesis of Reality
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 2568
  • Iceland has over 50 words for snow!
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10040 on: September 21, 2014, 06:14:50 PM »
I've just tried it again, and this time she picked up a new case. So, hopefully, it is fine now

Online Trip

  • Challenge Board Assistant
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 4252
  • Deep fried since 1994
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10041 on: September 21, 2014, 06:17:47 PM »
Fingers crossed! You know where to come back to if problems persist. ;)
No respect, no chance, cease and desist when I chant-

Forum Rules / DecaDynasty

Offline KRae

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 2378
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10042 on: September 21, 2014, 08:06:36 PM »
Has anyone ever gotten that use your psychic powers to help the police op to work? I've gotten it with PIs, ghost hunters, and fortunetellers and never been able to complete it.

Online Trip

  • Challenge Board Assistant
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 4252
  • Deep fried since 1994
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10043 on: September 21, 2014, 08:37:46 PM »
I get it all the time and have never been able to complete it either.
No respect, no chance, cease and desist when I chant-

Forum Rules / DecaDynasty

Offline Deklitch

  • Nemesis of Reality
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 2568
  • Iceland has over 50 words for snow!
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10044 on: September 21, 2014, 11:08:52 PM »
Ok, a different PI case has now worked for me, and she is able to accept and complete different cases, so it must have just been those particular ops that were a problem. Still haven't tried to get a different one of my sims to be in law enforcement yet, I will at some time, just not yet.

Dek

Offline jesirose

  • Occult
  • ****
  • Posts: 411
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10045 on: September 22, 2014, 09:11:44 AM »
If someone not in our household dies on our lot, are we allowed to delete the grave or do we have to keep it?
- Jessica

Online Trip

  • Challenge Board Assistant
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 4252
  • Deep fried since 1994
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10046 on: September 22, 2014, 09:17:06 AM »
I wouldn't delete it, but whether you move it elsewhere or keep it is up to you.
No respect, no chance, cease and desist when I chant-

Forum Rules / DecaDynasty

Offline jesirose

  • Occult
  • ****
  • Posts: 411
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10047 on: September 22, 2014, 09:57:41 AM »
I've never moved a grave before, how do I put it in the public cemetery?
- Jessica

Online Trip

  • Challenge Board Assistant
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 4252
  • Deep fried since 1994
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10048 on: September 22, 2014, 09:59:13 AM »
Put it in your active sim's inventory, move the camera over to the graveyard, place it down.
No respect, no chance, cease and desist when I chant-

Forum Rules / DecaDynasty

Offline jesirose

  • Occult
  • ****
  • Posts: 411
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10049 on: September 22, 2014, 11:01:34 AM »
Derp. Sorry. Hadn't even tried yet, I was thinking I had to be in build mode to place it down.
- Jessica