Author Topic: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge  (Read 1443846 times)

Online Trip

  • Challenge Board Assistant
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 4244
  • Deep fried since 1994
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8525 on: August 02, 2013, 09:26:22 AM »
Fiddlesticks!

I can't enter buy or build mode on purchased properties, in that it makes the UI disappear entirely, and buy/build on my home lot is acting wonky too (oftentimes I'm unable to enter live mode again, warranting a force quit). I tried clearing caches and restarting, restarting my computer entirely, moving my save and most recent backup to a factory reset folder, and trying to buy or build on purchased properties in my backup in the factory reset folder, and nothing works. :(

I've searched around and no one seems to have the problem I'm having.

I kind of need to enter buy and build so I can upgrade properties, and so I can move sculptures down to the museum at home. I'd hate to give up on this attempt since I'm a hair's breadth away from getting my founder to immortality and everything else is going so well.

EDIT: I think I might attempt a reinstall before I inquire about further fixing this problem. See you on the other side...
No respect, no chance, cease and desist when I chant-

Forum Rules / DecaDynasty

Offline Turoskel

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 1142
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8526 on: August 02, 2013, 11:33:32 AM »
Oh Trip that's horrid :( It did that to me when building a resort on IP but not the entire UI, the camera controls part was still there but then the rest was invisible, I managed to get back to live mode in the end by pressing the pause button in the top right corner, none of the other buttons or keyboard shortcuts did a thing, and it hasn't happened to me since thankfully.

Hope you can find a solution for it.




Registered members do not see ads on this Forum. Register here.

Online Trip

  • Challenge Board Assistant
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 4244
  • Deep fried since 1994
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8527 on: August 02, 2013, 11:40:25 AM »
Yeah, sometimes the camera controls were on the side, but the other times, my UI went entirely kaput. Infuriating. >:(

EDIT: I spent my whole morning and some of the afternoon reinstalling my game, and build/buy is still broken. Fiddlesticks again!

EDIT 2: I loaded up a fresh Twinbrook and had my chosen household buy a property. Build/buy works fine there, so it's specific to my dynasty file. Still awful for my dynasty, though.

I found a thread on the official forums about my issue, and it recommended a manual uninstall of the base game. Hurray. And by hurray, I mean "kill me now."
No respect, no chance, cease and desist when I chant-

Forum Rules / DecaDynasty

Offline MissChar

  • Nooboo
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8528 on: August 02, 2013, 04:57:53 PM »
This challenge sounds amazing! I've been reading dynasties awhile and I joined just so I could do this challenge- it looks super fun!

Online Trip

  • Challenge Board Assistant
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 4244
  • Deep fried since 1994
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8529 on: August 02, 2013, 06:05:51 PM »
Good luck and have fun, MissChar. :)

I'm not having fun though. Two reinstalls and lots of headbashing later, and I still can't get build/buy to work. I'll try some earlier backups and hope I can get permission to go back if I must, or even can.

EDIT: Ah-ha! My third most-recent backup works fine when it comes to build/buy mode. I wouldn't lose much progress, but of course, I'm not going with any solutions until I can get some official input. Since I'm not the best at explaining my situation, here's a post on the official forum that explains better, and with a picture! That's exactly what's happening to me half the time, by the way (the other half being the entire UI going missing and me unable to interact with anything).

So, to summarize, build/buy is nigh-irreparably bugged for my dynasty file and only that file, and the only solution I can see is going back to one of my backups. Good, or do I have other options?
No respect, no chance, cease and desist when I chant-

Forum Rules / DecaDynasty

Offline Gwendy

  • Occult
  • ****
  • Posts: 484
  • And this is why we can't have nice things.
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8530 on: August 03, 2013, 05:13:16 PM »
Okay, I have what is possibly a rather foolish question, but are 3rd party Create-A-Sim sliders (for eyes and hips, I think) allowed, or are they banned? I'm asking because I'm not entirely sure if 3rd party CAS Custom Content is only allowed if they fall under the makeup/hair sections, or if it's all fine.
The Hideous Immortal Dynasty

I think those pictures gave me heartburn.
-Shirin's roommate's Seal of Approval
------------

Offline Ricalynn

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 8431
  • Addicted to Dynasties? *shady eyes* Not me.
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8531 on: August 03, 2013, 05:21:06 PM »
Trip - Go ahead with the working backup.


Gwendy - I'm not sure.
Origin ID: Ricalynn
Current Active Stories: Artie's TS4 Dynasty || Grim Rivalries

Please read and follow the Forum Rules.

Stories: Artie | The Race | Grim Chronicles | Revenge | Licious



Registered members do not see ads on this Forum. Register here.

Online Trip

  • Challenge Board Assistant
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 4244
  • Deep fried since 1994
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8532 on: August 03, 2013, 05:43:41 PM »
Thank you so much Rica!

As for CAS sliders, Mod The Sims puts their slider downloads under "Game Mods." Regular CAS custom content has a section of its own, away from the Game Mods section. Make of that what you will.
No respect, no chance, cease and desist when I chant-

Forum Rules / DecaDynasty

Offline Seabody

  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 5102
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8533 on: August 03, 2013, 08:45:03 PM »
As for CAS sliders, Mod The Sims puts their slider downloads under "Game Mods." Regular CAS custom content has a section of its own, away from the Game Mods section. Make of that what you will.

Could just be their own classification? Though as far as I know, Sliders used to be Core Mods, before some tools got invented to make it easier. It's still (technically) inserting new behavior, though, although essentially it's a bit of script and some meshes.

Offline Gwendy

  • Occult
  • ****
  • Posts: 484
  • And this is why we can't have nice things.
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8534 on: August 03, 2013, 10:14:04 PM »
As for CAS sliders, Mod The Sims puts their slider downloads under "Game Mods." Regular CAS custom content has a section of its own, away from the Game Mods section. Make of that what you will.
All right then. Since it says it's a game mod on the site, I'll take it that it means it's a game mod in the game. Thanks for all your help, Trip and Rica!  :)
The Hideous Immortal Dynasty

I think those pictures gave me heartburn.
-Shirin's roommate's Seal of Approval
------------

Online Trip

  • Challenge Board Assistant
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 4244
  • Deep fried since 1994
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8535 on: August 04, 2013, 02:57:18 PM »
After letting out a huge string of expletives at my computer, I've decided to give up on yet another dynasty attempt. Build/buy bugged out again and I'm not going back to my last good point. I have a feeling that my save might be corrupt if it keeps pulling this crap on me.

At least I had the good sense not to post this attempt.
No respect, no chance, cease and desist when I chant-

Forum Rules / DecaDynasty

Offline dontmindme

  • Immortal
  • *****
  • Posts: 566
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8536 on: August 04, 2013, 05:44:35 PM »
Hey, so I have a question. We're on week 8 and for some reason I can't click to visit one of the families my played one is close to (one of my now dead housemates fathered a few kids with one of the adults there and two others are friends with a couple of members). Has this ever happened to anyone else?

Offline Deklitch

  • Nemesis of Reality
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 2566
  • Iceland has over 50 words for snow!
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8537 on: August 04, 2013, 06:12:15 PM »
I just got the following error when attempting to open my archetypes game

"A serious error has occurred while trying to open 'Archetypes Dynasty 3.sims3'. It is strongly advised to restart the application."

So I closed out and restarted and got the same error message. Do I have permission to go back to an earlier save?

Online Trip

  • Challenge Board Assistant
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 4244
  • Deep fried since 1994
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8538 on: August 04, 2013, 07:03:21 PM »
Hey, so I have a question. We're on week 8 and for some reason I can't click to visit one of the families my played one is close to (one of my now dead housemates fathered a few kids with one of the adults there and two others are friends with a couple of members). Has this ever happened to anyone else?

Happens to me all the time. If you focus on the house, you might be able to access the inside anyways by going down to an accessible floor. If not, maybe exit and clear caches to see if that helps.
No respect, no chance, cease and desist when I chant-

Forum Rules / DecaDynasty

Offline Ricalynn

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 8431
  • Addicted to Dynasties? *shady eyes* Not me.
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8539 on: August 04, 2013, 07:20:58 PM »
I just got the following error when attempting to open my archetypes game

"A serious error has occurred while trying to open 'Archetypes Dynasty 3.sims3'. It is strongly advised to restart the application."

So I closed out and restarted and got the same error message. Do I have permission to go back to an earlier save?

Sometimes when I get that error I just load the game right back up and it will let me.  If that doesn't work than yes.. you have permission.
Origin ID: Ricalynn
Current Active Stories: Artie's TS4 Dynasty || Grim Rivalries

Please read and follow the Forum Rules.

Stories: Artie | The Race | Grim Chronicles | Revenge | Licious

Offline Shirin

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 1497
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8540 on: August 04, 2013, 08:20:20 PM »
Well, Trip, this is too little, too late, but I did run into the same problem as you just now.

How I solved it is alt tabbing back to Windows, and then right clicking on the game in the start bar, then selecting exit program. When I went back in, it told me that exiting would cause me to lose everything - proceed? I selected no, then hit F2 again. It worked at that time.

Hopefully you don't run into this issue again, but if you do, maybe this will help?

Online Trip

  • Challenge Board Assistant
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 4244
  • Deep fried since 1994
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8541 on: August 04, 2013, 08:30:17 PM »
Well, Trip, this is too little, too late, but I did run into the same problem as you just now.

How I solved it is alt tabbing back to Windows, and then right clicking on the game in the start bar, then selecting exit program. When I went back in, it told me that exiting would cause me to lose everything - proceed? I selected no, then hit F2 again. It worked at that time.

Hopefully you don't run into this issue again, but if you do, maybe this will help?

I'll keep it in mind if it happens again. :)
No respect, no chance, cease and desist when I chant-

Forum Rules / DecaDynasty

Offline dontmindme

  • Immortal
  • *****
  • Posts: 566
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8542 on: August 05, 2013, 12:34:14 PM »
Hey, guys, I need some quick clarification. The rules state that only normal lifespan sims can move into the family. Does this mean that we must cure the other states before obtaining their DNA samples to clone? Or can we cure the clone as soon as possible (either childhood or teen)? I'm at the point where most of the rain-sliders are long-lived occults and I'd like to grab their DNA before they kick the bucket. Thanks for the help!

Online Trip

  • Challenge Board Assistant
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 4244
  • Deep fried since 1994
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8543 on: August 05, 2013, 12:43:47 PM »
Yes, you have to cure them before obtaining DNA samples, because there are no cases when you can have a banned occult in the household.
No respect, no chance, cease and desist when I chant-

Forum Rules / DecaDynasty

Offline dontmindme

  • Immortal
  • *****
  • Posts: 566
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8544 on: August 05, 2013, 12:51:51 PM »
Thanks for clearing that up for me, Trip.

Online Trip

  • Challenge Board Assistant
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 4244
  • Deep fried since 1994
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8545 on: August 05, 2013, 08:26:24 PM »
Alright, this is going to sound like an incredibly stupid question, coming from me. You've been warned.

Anyways, after about a dozen dynasty attempts, I realized that I don't need the Port-a-Party Warehouse that gets autoplaced, since I've been able to finish the Showtime professions with Performance Park alone, and I never really use the warehouse for anything else. I removed it in my brand new file, which is within the rules, but should I change the empty lot back to a residential lot or keep it as a community lot? It's one of the empty lots on Sweetwater Loop in Twinbrook, and I'm 98% sure that it's a residential lot if nothing gets placed on it. I have no plans to place anything else on it.
No respect, no chance, cease and desist when I chant-

Forum Rules / DecaDynasty

Offline Shirin

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 1497
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8546 on: August 05, 2013, 08:46:48 PM »
Couldn't you bulldoze the lot entirely?

(Maybe that's just my weird quirk.)

Online Trip

  • Challenge Board Assistant
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 4244
  • Deep fried since 1994
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8547 on: August 05, 2013, 08:48:38 PM »
Yeah, I guess I could. I actually don't know why I didn't think of that. Thanks!
No respect, no chance, cease and desist when I chant-

Forum Rules / DecaDynasty

Offline Gwendy

  • Occult
  • ****
  • Posts: 484
  • And this is why we can't have nice things.
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8548 on: August 05, 2013, 09:43:11 PM »
Could just be their own classification? Though as far as I know, Sliders used to be Core Mods, before some tools got invented to make it easier. It's still (technically) inserting new behavior, though, although essentially it's a bit of script and some meshes.
Didn't see this before I replied. I don't know if it's core, or not, but one of them did mess with the jaw sliders. And it said on the rule page that all mods were banned, apart from clothes, makeup and hair CC. However, I read it as "CAS is a free for all" which turns out to be an incorrect line of thinking. I'm still going to finish out my dynasty, it just won't be HOF-applicable.
The Hideous Immortal Dynasty

I think those pictures gave me heartburn.
-Shirin's roommate's Seal of Approval
------------

Offline Insomaniac

  • NPC
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8549 on: August 05, 2013, 09:55:23 PM »
I've searched (several times), but am having trouble making sure I'm understanding one thing correctly. One of the things my founder does not have to do before eating ambrosia is sire an heir? That can wait until after? I'm not experienced with children and would like to feather the nest well and not be trying to do much else at the same time. I figured I should be certain before his first wife gets too old. Thanks for answering what must be a repeat question, but it was hard to find this particular needle in this several-hundred page haystack of a thread.  ;D

 

anything