Author Topic: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge  (Read 1452076 times)

Offline Crazylittleloon

  • Occult
  • ****
  • Posts: 453
  • Ruining your childhood since 1995
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8750 on: September 23, 2013, 05:38:15 PM »
I've combed through the thread and couldn't find my answer, so here it goes.

Are we allowed to add extra registers to the consignment shop? Like, a comic book register, an additional consignment register, the registers that came with World Adventures, stuff like that?

Online Trip

  • Challenge Board Assistant
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 4255
  • Deep fried since 1994
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8751 on: September 23, 2013, 05:40:20 PM »
As long as you own the consignment shop and you're adding the registers through the actions to build/buy on the lot (like with any alteration to an owned lot), then it's absolutely fine.
No respect, no chance, cease and desist when I chant-

Forum Rules / DecaDynasty



Registered members do not see ads on this Forum. Register here.

Offline Crazylittleloon

  • Occult
  • ****
  • Posts: 453
  • Ruining your childhood since 1995
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8752 on: September 23, 2013, 05:47:34 PM »
As long as you own the consignment shop and you're adding the registers through the actions to build/buy on the lot (like with any alteration to an owned lot), then it's absolutely fine.

Thank you so much! For some reason something in the back of my mind kept telling me that it wasn't allowed, and that threw a wrench in my plans for the greatest consignment shop ever. But now that I know it's okay, it's back on! ;D

Offline Nutella

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 2883
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8753 on: September 23, 2013, 06:00:02 PM »
Can it be as far back as I need it to be? I might have to go back to before I sent them to university. It's a real-life week's worth of playing down the drain, but one that I accept.

Yes.   :)

Offline CodyAlex

  • Llama Wrangler
  • **
  • Posts: 90
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8754 on: September 24, 2013, 01:29:09 PM »
Great news-I'm starting an Immortal Dynasty! Only question, how many posts do you need to create a gallery account? Thanks guys c:

Offline Shirin

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 1497
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8755 on: September 24, 2013, 01:32:26 PM »
You only need 10 posts.

Good luck!

Offline Nutella

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 2883
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8756 on: September 24, 2013, 01:34:45 PM »
Great news-I'm starting an Immortal Dynasty! Only question, how many posts do you need to create a gallery account? Thanks guys c:

Members must have a minimum of 10 posts to be eligible to register for a Gallery account.  Here is a direct link to the rules and guidelines for using Carl's Sims3 Gallery.
http://www.carls-sims-3-guide.com/forum/index.php?topic=2881.0



Registered members do not see ads on this Forum. Register here.

Offline CodyAlex

  • Llama Wrangler
  • **
  • Posts: 90
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8757 on: September 24, 2013, 02:23:34 PM »
Thanks :) Have to do a few more posts then!

Offline Shirin

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 1497
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8758 on: September 24, 2013, 02:58:07 PM »
Well, you could always start posting your story, and then go back and edit them to add the screenshots. :)

Online Trip

  • Challenge Board Assistant
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 4255
  • Deep fried since 1994
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8759 on: September 24, 2013, 10:33:13 PM »
My second generation got an op at university to use the Group Science Project. It actually takes up the career slot in the regular op panel, and not one of the university op slots. Oh, and I have a screenshot to drive the point home:



Can I count it as one of his ops? Also, "Enroll in University" (the op that automatically comes after taking the aptitude test, right in the homeworld) counts as an op too, right? I'm kind of running thin on ops for my heir.

(I'm certain that both of these were answered somewhere anyways. :P)
No respect, no chance, cease and desist when I chant-

Forum Rules / DecaDynasty

Offline Nutella

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 2883
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8760 on: September 24, 2013, 11:01:14 PM »
@ Trip-

If they take up one of the 3 standard opportunity slots (career/skill/special), then they do count, except for Oh My Ghost opp which is banned for this dynasty.  Looks like your Group Science Project takes up the career slot, so that will count.  The "Enroll in University" opp, does it appear on one of those slot?  If yes, then you can count it.  Opps that appear on the university op slots, those will not count.

Online Trip

  • Challenge Board Assistant
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 4255
  • Deep fried since 1994
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8761 on: September 24, 2013, 11:03:30 PM »
Thanks! I'll have someone take the aptitude test when my sims get back from uni and see what panel that one goes into. I think it was career, but I'll double-check.
No respect, no chance, cease and desist when I chant-

Forum Rules / DecaDynasty

Offline Rikki8528

  • Immortal
  • *****
  • Posts: 526
  • Sims 3 Fan
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8762 on: September 25, 2013, 11:38:04 AM »
I started in Starlight Shores, bought the right lot, and was left with 8308 simoleans. I followed the familyfunds instructions, pressed enter and nothing happened. The cheat screen disappeared, but I was left with the same amount of simoleans. What should I do?

Online Trip

  • Challenge Board Assistant
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 4255
  • Deep fried since 1994
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8763 on: September 25, 2013, 11:45:05 AM »
Did you enable testingcheats? Type in your family's name correctly?
No respect, no chance, cease and desist when I chant-

Forum Rules / DecaDynasty

Offline Nutella

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 2883
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8764 on: September 25, 2013, 11:47:04 AM »
@Rikki8528:

Can you try again?  Did you enter your household last name?  Example:  if my household last name is Nutella, this is what I will be doing.

Press Command-Shift-C to open to cheats panel (screen will gray)
Type testingcheatsenabled true, then Return/Enter

Press Command-Shift-C to open to cheats panel (screen will gray) again
Type familyfunds Nutella 1800, then Return/Enter
*** at this point you should see your household funds go down to 1800 ***

Press Command-Shift-C to open to cheats panel (screen will gray) again
Type testingcheatsenabled false, then Return/Enter

Offline Rikki8528

  • Immortal
  • *****
  • Posts: 526
  • Sims 3 Fan
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8765 on: September 25, 2013, 11:49:32 AM »
Yes, I tried again. I put the household name and amount in brackets like it does in the first post. Will try another time without brackets.

Edit:

It worked without brackets.

Offline Nutella

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 2883
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8766 on: September 25, 2013, 12:07:52 PM »
It worked without brackets.

 :)  Good luck on your dynasty.

Offline rodeo199

  • Townie
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8767 on: September 26, 2013, 10:10:38 AM »
I have a problem. I am trying to get one of my heirs to supermax social networking, but one of the skill challenges isn't working or more specifically the interaction won't complete fully. It is the Professional Greeter skill challenge and to complete it you need to find 25 sims using the sim finder app. So I go into the app & 'find sim' but nothing happens, no one comes to her house, which is what should happen, no one appears in her contact list & in the skill journal it doesn't change the number  of sims found (which is zero). Should I change the supermax or do you guys have any suggestions to help. Thanks

Offline Nutella

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 2883
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8768 on: September 26, 2013, 10:20:45 AM »
@rodeo199:

Try putting in some traits, age, gender information in your sim finder app.  See if that works. 

Offline rodeo199

  • Townie
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8769 on: September 26, 2013, 10:26:02 AM »
Thanks for the suggestion, but unfortunately it didn't work, I tried all of them filled in, some of them, most or only a few but to no avail.

Offline Nutella

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 2883
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8770 on: September 26, 2013, 10:31:35 AM »
@rodeo199:

Is this a problem just on one sim?  Or is it on all your sims?

Offline rodeo199

  • Townie
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8771 on: September 26, 2013, 10:51:08 AM »
Umm... I'm not sure, I'll try tomorrow with one of the spares.

Offline Nutella

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 2883
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8772 on: September 26, 2013, 10:59:29 AM »
Another thing that might help:  Close your sims game, clear your cache (package files, world cache, thumbnails, DCCache), then restart your game.

Offline ombradellarosa

  • You can call me Rosa :)
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 3696
  • Follow Brooke on The Mole!
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8773 on: September 26, 2013, 01:47:36 PM »
This happens to me as well under different game conditions. I think I've succeeded once in getting someone to show up--usually they don't.
Please read and follow the Forum Rules.

   
By intl_incident                                                      By samoht04

Offline Shirin

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 1497
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #8774 on: September 26, 2013, 01:59:09 PM »
I've tried it a few times, but only had it work once. Sim friend showed up, then promptly fled. ;D

 

anything