Author Topic: The Sims 3 Townie DecaDynasty Challenge  (Read 352162 times)

Offline ratchie

  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 5394
Re: The Sims 3 Townie DecaDynasty Challenge
« Reply #875 on: January 26, 2012, 05:12:53 PM »
I mostly meet NPCs hanging around the park especially tourists and social workers for some reason. I also discovered that if you know one NPC when you call them and select invite over household a list of all the current in game NPCs comes up.

While we are on the subject of NPCs,Metro,would the pet adoption person qualify as an NPC.

Rachel.
Please follow the forum rules.

Offline jeanamariex3

  • Crazy Cat Lady
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 3610
    • Jeana's Blog!
Re: The Sims 3 Townie DecaDynasty Challenge
« Reply #876 on: January 26, 2012, 06:20:27 PM »
Quick question: Can Sims already be married? I want to use the Marshall Family in Appaloosa Planes. They have a nursery all set, and pets.




Registered members do not see ads on this Forum. Register here.

Sportsfan

  • Guest
Re: The Sims 3 Townie DecaDynasty Challenge
« Reply #877 on: January 26, 2012, 06:34:24 PM »
As long as they have no kids, you are fine.

Offline ratchie

  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 5394
Re: The Sims 3 Townie DecaDynasty Challenge
« Reply #878 on: January 26, 2012, 06:34:45 PM »
Yes they can start off married to one another or you can break up a couple or have a single Sim break up another couple and marry a divorcee so to speak.

Rachel
Please follow the forum rules.

Offline Metropolis Man

  • Tournament/Dynasty Coordinator
  • Administrator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 10591
Re: The Sims 3 Townie DecaDynasty Challenge
« Reply #879 on: January 26, 2012, 10:07:07 PM »
While we are on the subject of NPCs,Metro,would the pet adoption person qualify as an NPC.

I don't see why not. I'll make the edit. Thanks, Rachel.

Offline Pam

  • Community Manager
  • Administrator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 15237
Re: The Sims 3 Townie DecaDynasty Challenge
« Reply #880 on: January 27, 2012, 12:04:57 AM »
I also discovered that if you know one NPC when you call them and select invite over household a list of all the current in game NPCs comes up.


That is an amazing piece of information!  Thank you, Rachel.
Read and heed the Forum Rules, please!

Support the site when you purchase online!
Dreamweaver Immortal Dynasty
Dreamweaver 4 x 4 Dynasty
Pam's Sims 4 World Blog

"Half of my posts are correcting people. The other 49% is moving threads."

Offline Katluvr

  • Crazy Cat Lady - Origin ID: Katluvr23
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 1419
  • The shortest distance between two people is a hug.
Re: The Sims 3 Townie DecaDynasty Challenge
« Reply #881 on: January 27, 2012, 02:19:22 AM »
That is the one thing that puts me off the DecaDynasty is that I'm useless as socialising (In Sims and in real life, Lol)

That makes two of us, Tom!  I also have a hard time playing townies for some reason so I quickly lose interest.  I'm hoping UC will provide enough variety for me to see a decadynasty through to the end.

Thank you everyone for the ideas on how to meet NPCs.



Registered members do not see ads on this Forum. Register here.

Sarah_n07

  • Guest
Re: The Sims 3 Townie DecaDynasty Challenge
« Reply #882 on: January 27, 2012, 05:52:33 AM »
Is it okay to bulldoze some community/( unoccupied) residential lots to place other EA-created buildings and lots on them?

Offline Metropolis Man

  • Tournament/Dynasty Coordinator
  • Administrator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 10591
Re: The Sims 3 Townie DecaDynasty Challenge
« Reply #883 on: January 27, 2012, 07:16:13 AM »
Is it okay to bulldoze some community/( unoccupied) residential lots to place other EA-created buildings and lots on them?

You have to place EA-created buildings on empty lots. You cannot bulldoze existing buildings to make room for other ones.

Offline imadnsn

  • NPC
  • *
  • Posts: 3
The Sims 3 Townie DecaDynasty Challenge
« Reply #884 on: January 29, 2012, 09:57:51 AM »
Yay, it is the challenge that made me make an account on this forum.
Well, I am going to install my Ambitions Ep to add some professions into my game.
The only thing that can make me fail is the opportunities task.
It is quite challenging, but I don't have other problems except having the tombstone of dying by old age in the first generation (because I love to start with only two townies)
but I small little question...
Can I, after I move the first heir, create a sim so it would be my heir spouse, because I love to create my own sim?
Well, I hope my experiment of all three versions of The Sims would help me in this challenge.

Offline MoonsAreBlue

  • Infatuated Fanatic
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 1444
Re: The Sims 3 Townie DecaDynasty Challenge
« Reply #885 on: January 29, 2012, 11:16:22 AM »
@imadnsn

Create A Sim is not used at all in this challenge. Your heir (of two existing sims) will have to marry an existing townie and move into his/her household after all the requirements are met. I'll admit, this challenge is a hard one! I find the opportunities to be the hardest, also.

Offline imadnsn

  • NPC
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: The Sims 3 Townie DecaDynasty Challenge
« Reply #886 on: January 29, 2012, 11:18:13 AM »
@imadnsn

Create A Sim is not used at all in this challenge. Your heir (of two existing sims) will have to marry an existing townie and move into his/her household after all the requirements are met. I'll admit, this challenge is a hard one! I find the opportunities to be the hardest, also.

Thank you very much for explaining.

Offline Pam

  • Community Manager
  • Administrator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 15237
Re: The Sims 3 Townie DecaDynasty Challenge
« Reply #887 on: January 31, 2012, 12:23:47 AM »
Have we discussed whether pets can move out with the heir?  One of the rules states:

Quote
Sims from the previous household may not move in with a later heir, either when he/she moves or after the fact.

Pets aren't Sims, so I'm wondering if maybe a cat can go with the heir.  I think it would be fun to bring an offspring cat/kitten to each new house and have a line of 10 generations of the cats at the end.

Read and heed the Forum Rules, please!

Support the site when you purchase online!
Dreamweaver Immortal Dynasty
Dreamweaver 4 x 4 Dynasty
Pam's Sims 4 World Blog

"Half of my posts are correcting people. The other 49% is moving threads."

Offline MoonsAreBlue

  • Infatuated Fanatic
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 1444
Re: The Sims 3 Townie DecaDynasty Challenge
« Reply #888 on: January 31, 2012, 09:31:58 AM »
@Pam

I asked the same question earlier! Metro decided not to put pets in the rules at all so players are free to use them however they please. So you're good to go with moving your kitties out with your heir. :)

Offline IflanaNifi

  • Townie
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
Re: The Sims 3 Townie DecaDynasty Challenge
« Reply #889 on: February 04, 2012, 02:34:01 AM »
Hmm, I'm having an issue with my Story Progression as the past few "families" to move in have been one elderly sim and the rest of the sim families are elderly vampires. Literally, only one household has a young adult age sim and it's the same gender as my heir, and I'm getting close to moving time.

So my question is: Can my heir move into another occupied townie household once the moving requirements are filled, then move in an NPC to have the child with? If I remember correctly I can't do this, which is why I'm asking.

So the second question would be: does anyone have any hints for slapping story progression into sending some young adults or adults my way?

Offline samoht04

  • Building Contest Coordinator
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 9401
Re: The Sims 3 Townie DecaDynasty Challenge
« Reply #890 on: February 04, 2012, 12:52:01 PM »
Hmm, I'm having an issue with my Story Progression as the past few "families" to move in have been one elderly sim and the rest of the sim families are elderly vampires. Literally, only one household has a young adult age sim and it's the same gender as my heir, and I'm getting close to moving time.

So my question is: Can my heir move into another occupied townie household once the moving requirements are filled, then move in an NPC to have the child with? If I remember correctly I can't do this, which is why I'm asking.

So the second question would be: does anyone have any hints for slapping story progression into sending some young adults or adults my way?

I think there was a way to spawn more townies by joining different careers to make SP spawn Co-Workers and bosses for your Sim. I don't know about that one though.
Please read the Forum Rules![/center]

Offline Metropolis Man

  • Tournament/Dynasty Coordinator
  • Administrator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 10591
Re: The Sims 3 Townie DecaDynasty Challenge
« Reply #891 on: February 04, 2012, 05:36:05 PM »
Hmm, I'm having an issue with my Story Progression as the past few "families" to move in have been one elderly sim and the rest of the sim families are elderly vampires. Literally, only one household has a young adult age sim and it's the same gender as my heir, and I'm getting close to moving time.

So my question is: Can my heir move into another occupied townie household once the moving requirements are filled, then move in an NPC to have the child with? If I remember correctly I can't do this, which is why I'm asking.

Unless I am misunderstanding you, there is nothing wrong in doing what you are suggesting. The key is making sure no one in the house you are moving into is a vampire and that all moving requirements have been met. The next heir needs to be born within 10 days of moving, so there is plenty of time to move in your targeted NPC.

Offline IflanaNifi

  • Townie
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
Re: The Sims 3 Townie DecaDynasty Challenge
« Reply #892 on: February 04, 2012, 08:00:34 PM »
Unless I am misunderstanding you, there is nothing wrong in doing what you are suggesting. The key is making sure no one in the house you are moving into is a vampire and that all moving requirements have been met. The next heir needs to be born within 10 days of moving, so there is plenty of time to move in your targeted NPC.
Okay awesome thank you, so as long as I move into a townie household without a vampire I can then move an NPC sim in to have the baby. Also, I think my game may be glitching a bit, and I might have discovered why I literally only have old people in town. I was trying to figure out who was in a few of the houses the game was listing as occupied but no one ever came home. I checked in edit town (didn't edit anything or change active household, just checked to see who was in the family) and there's literally houses that are listed as occupied without any occupants in them (they appear to be the last names of old sims who have passed on, but the game still thinks a family lives there). Can I kick the non existent sims out of those houses so I can start actually getting a population back? There's three houses like this.

Offline lvrugger

  • Occult
  • ****
  • Posts: 431
Re: The Sims 3 Townie DecaDynasty Challenge
« Reply #893 on: February 06, 2012, 02:05:44 AM »
I've had my game do that. I would visit the house and it would usually reset to unoccupied. You have to have your sim visit the lot even if you can't click on the house in map view and select to visit. Just click on the ground and select "go here" or whatever the button says. Good luck!

Offline ratchie

  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 5394
Re: The Sims 3 Townie DecaDynasty Challenge
« Reply #894 on: February 07, 2012, 03:58:20 PM »
Metro,I am having so many problems with my game file in Union Cove so it is begining to look like I won't be able to continue my dynasty there.  The only thing is I love my UC family and I am not going to be a happy bunny if I have to stop playing them.
 Can I have permision to move my family to SV or AP. If not that is fine I will take it on the chin and start my decadynasty again.

Rachel
Please follow the forum rules.

Offline Metropolis Man

  • Tournament/Dynasty Coordinator
  • Administrator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 10591
Re: The Sims 3 Townie DecaDynasty Challenge
« Reply #895 on: February 07, 2012, 04:08:59 PM »
Metro,I am having so many problems with my game file in Union Cove so it is begining to look like I won't be able to continue my dynasty there.  The only thing is I love my UC family and I am not going to be a happy bunny if I have to stop playing them.
 Can I have permision to move my family to SV or AP. If not that is fine I will take it on the chin and start my decadynasty again.

Rachel

It's okay if you move them, but you need to make a clean break at the right time so as not to screw things up. In other words, you would fulfill all moving requirements for your next house, and then move to the next neighborhood.

Offline ratchie

  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 5394
Re: The Sims 3 Townie DecaDynasty Challenge
« Reply #896 on: February 07, 2012, 04:19:54 PM »
It's okay if you move them, but you need to make a clean break at the right time so as not to screw things up. In other words, you would fulfill all moving requirements for your next house, and then move to the next neighborhood.

Thanks but I don't think I will get to that stage with my family. It has just taken me four real life hours to play twelve Sim hours and that doesn't count the numerous crashes to desktop. My game runs so slow that I was able to go and make a cup of tea whilst Hebe walked from the ground floor to the first floor bathroom.
 My heir has only just aged up to child.  Would it be possible to take my two founders as they are at the begining of a fresh game and move them into Sunset Valley I could move them into two seperate houses.

Rachel

Rachel.
Please follow the forum rules.

Offline Metropolis Man

  • Tournament/Dynasty Coordinator
  • Administrator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 10591
Re: The Sims 3 Townie DecaDynasty Challenge
« Reply #897 on: February 07, 2012, 04:23:44 PM »
Would it be possible to take my two founders as they are at the begining of a fresh game and move them into Sunset Valley I could move them into two seperate houses.

Were they in the same starting house in UC? If they were then start them in the same house in SV.

Offline ratchie

  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 5394
Re: The Sims 3 Townie DecaDynasty Challenge
« Reply #898 on: February 07, 2012, 04:25:08 PM »
No they were in seperate houses. Does this mean I have your permision to move them and start again.

Rachel
Please follow the forum rules.

Offline Metropolis Man

  • Tournament/Dynasty Coordinator
  • Administrator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 10591
Re: The Sims 3 Townie DecaDynasty Challenge
« Reply #899 on: February 07, 2012, 04:29:07 PM »
No they were in seperate houses. Does this mean I have your permision to move them and start again.

Yep. Best of luck this time around. ;)