Author Topic: Building a Dynasty House  (Read 4061 times)

Offline samoht04

  • Building Contest Coordinator
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 9401
Re: Building a Dynasty House
« Reply #25 on: August 05, 2011, 03:31:41 AM »
I have to admit that my Dynasty house is pretty fantastic.

Looks like our side is starting to win here!  ;) Also you said you added as needed but really, if I did that I'd end up with a sprawling complex rather than a house, you thought about where to put stuff, you must have done it right because you kept the same house till the end. I'm on my fifth Legacy House and my Second Dynasty house now, although I am hoping this Dynasty one will last my ever changing moods.  :P I'm nearly ready to do a House Tour of my Dynasty House, I'm going to have to expand it though, I just realised the Bedrooms are too small and there are only 7. So once that is done I'll get the Tour done and post a link here as well.
Please read the Forum Rules![/center]

Offline Seabody

  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 5102
Re: Building a Dynasty House
« Reply #26 on: August 05, 2011, 03:34:46 AM »
Thanks so much!  I have a long standing disagreement with the members here regarding my ability (or lack of) to build houses.  I say that I don't have any creativity and that I'm not a good builder, then they point to my Dynasty house and say I'm wrong.  Haha!  But really, I can't just start with an empty lot and design a great house.  My mind just draws a blank. 

I have to admit that my Dynasty house is pretty fantastic [...]

Well, after that, my debating mind is now trying to get rebuttal on the points that you brought up...
Debate-talk aside, I now see where you were coming from in those "arguments". I still remain adamant that you are a fantastic builder, and I am waiting with baited breath for the Dreamweaver house to be uploaded (should you choose to).



Registered members do not see ads on this Forum. Register here.

Offline TheChronicR

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 5964
Re: Building a Dynasty House
« Reply #27 on: August 05, 2011, 03:39:20 AM »
It's also worthy to note that if you're on the first generation and are dependent on the money of Agnes/Thornton/whoever it is, you might not be able to make all your illusions come true. This is where the money factor kicks in, and you can't help but satisfy yourself with the current build, in hopes to earn enough to expand it as soon as possible.

If anyone wants, my Dynasty house in Bridgeport can bee seen here. It's actually a tad bit difficult to make something decent in BP, because the Dynasty/Legacy lot is on a slope and is comparatively smaller than those in Sunset Valley etc.
Well, that's your opinion, isn't it? And I'm not about to waste my time trying to change it. - Lady GaGa

Offline samoht04

  • Building Contest Coordinator
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 9401
Re: Building a Dynasty House
« Reply #28 on: August 05, 2011, 03:50:58 AM »
It's also worthy to note that if you're on the first generation and are dependent on the money of Agnes/Thornton/whoever it is, you might not be able to make all your illusions come true. This is where the money factor kicks in, and you can't help but satisfy yourself with the current build, in hopes to earn enough to expand it as soon as possible.

I also suggest keeping a large amount of money back for Real Estate. Now at Generation 4 I have earned back all the money I have spent on Real Estate.

If you have a Dynasty in Twinbrook and don't mind moving in several people, DeAndre Wolfe has a Car worth $105,000 and briings in $20,000. Then move in another rich Sim and you could get another $50,000.  ;)
Please read the Forum Rules![/center]

Offline TheChronicR

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 5964
Re: Building a Dynasty House
« Reply #29 on: August 05, 2011, 04:04:38 AM »
I also suggest keeping a large amount of money back for Real Estate. Now at Generation 4 I have earned back all the money I have spent on Real Estate.

If you have a Dynasty in Twinbrook and don't mind moving in several people, DeAndre Wolfe has a Car worth $105,000 and briings in $20,000. Then move in another rich Sim and you could get another $50,000.  ;)

Twinbrook is good, but Bridgeport is better. :P You have Lola Belle and Matthew Hamming (who are mighty rich and the latter is rather handsome). I also recommend moving in the "Bridgeport Hagness", Olive Kipling and maybe partners for the ladies -- Jack Porter (maxed out Mixology (oh well), level 5 Cooking, two need bars are permanently frozen) and Like Reddy (level 5 Painting, maxed out Mixology/Gardening) are good choices.

As a matter of fact, I'm using this exact plan in my official dynasty, except I move in Michael Sleep instead of Olive Kipling, as a spouse for Lola and the father of the second generation. I realize that when the second generation is born there will already be 8 Sims in the house, but since Matthew and Lola are Adults (I believe Lola is halfway through it already), and I'm going to make all my Sims wait till they are nearing their Adult birthday to try for baby, I don't have much to worry about. Oh, and Michael, Jack, Liko and Olive are all homeless townies, so it's still a question whether they'll be in the Dynasty household or not, as there is a sheer possibility of them becoming vampires.
Well, that's your opinion, isn't it? And I'm not about to waste my time trying to change it. - Lady GaGa

Offline Anushka

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 1659
Re: Building a Dynasty House
« Reply #30 on: August 05, 2011, 04:15:57 AM »
I'm not shore how, but I have way to much money very soon in dynasty. First day(s) they don't really need a home, bed and fridge and toilet will do. When I started just with Jamie Jolina (she bring around 20.000), until generation 2 became YA there was more than enough money for nice house, and until generation 3 is born they had thousands of simoleons.
In last attempt (still active) I moved in Agness too,  and join firefighter career for founder, so by the time second generation reach YA they are worth around 750 000 plus 2 properties! At first I made them small home that has only 2 small bedrooms, just a regular home up to 50.000 furnished but with all that sculpting, painting, photography, writing and medical and firefighter career, they are already insanely rich (and Agness is still living on normal lifespan). Only now I'm building huge home, that is still not as huge as in previous attempts because of the file size. One large bedroom for all immortals to sleep in and one large bedroom for current immortal too be (and it's spouse and child). I'm not planning to add nursery etc. One empty room for sculpting, and outdoor party/skilling areas. Museum is part of basement that has no stairs - to keep portraits and ambrosia out of reach. First mansion I made for dynasty had 9 bedrooms including tomb themed hideout, and so many things, but file became so huge and eventually I had to gave up on them because of that, so keep that in mind from the start.

Offline TheChronicR

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 5964
Re: Building a Dynasty House
« Reply #31 on: August 05, 2011, 04:18:10 AM »
...but file became so huge and eventually I had to gave up on them because of that, so keep that in mind from the start.

Yes. Exactly that. And now, with memories, save files tend to get huge in literally no time.
Well, that's your opinion, isn't it? And I'm not about to waste my time trying to change it. - Lady GaGa



Registered members do not see ads on this Forum. Register here.

Offline Joria

  • Top Secret
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 5741
Re: Building a Dynasty House
« Reply #32 on: August 05, 2011, 02:55:29 PM »
Can you turn memories off?
What?  Grannies can't play games?
I speak perfect Nooblik, (and some Simlish)!

----------
With A Twist, an Immortal Dynasty
My No Buy Story
Joria's Creations on the Gallery

Offline TheChronicR

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 5964
Re: Building a Dynasty House
« Reply #33 on: August 05, 2011, 02:59:07 PM »
Can you turn memories off?

You can only turn off the pop-up notifying you that your Sim got a memory, but memories will still register, both for townies and your Sims. :-\
Well, that's your opinion, isn't it? And I'm not about to waste my time trying to change it. - Lady GaGa

Sportsfan

  • Guest
Re: Building a Dynasty House
« Reply #34 on: August 05, 2011, 03:06:20 PM »
In a dynasty house; is it necessary to make 8 bedrooms or could I have some share?

Offline samoht04

  • Building Contest Coordinator
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 9401
Re: Building a Dynasty House
« Reply #35 on: August 05, 2011, 03:19:06 PM »
In a dynasty house; is it necessary to make 8 bedrooms or could I have some share?

Nope, Metro himself only had two bedrooms. One for Reproductive Purposes and then a 'Communal Area' for anyone not in the breeding season.
Please read the Forum Rules![/center]

Sportsfan

  • Guest
Re: Building a Dynasty House
« Reply #36 on: August 05, 2011, 03:21:44 PM »
Nope, Metro himself only had two bedrooms. One for Reproductive Purposes and then a 'Communal Area' for anyone not in the breeding season.
I saw that. Can two of the immortals sleep in the same bed if they aren't married?

Offline TheChronicR

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 5964
Re: Building a Dynasty House
« Reply #37 on: August 05, 2011, 03:25:10 PM »
I saw that. Can two of the immortals sleep in the same bed if they aren't married?

If they are friends, yes. If they are less than friends, then they will throw a tantrum and refuse to perform the task given to them.
Well, that's your opinion, isn't it? And I'm not about to waste my time trying to change it. - Lady GaGa