Author Topic: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge  (Read 665124 times)

Offline ratchie

  • Challenge Board Assistant
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 4853
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #3625 on: October 22, 2011, 11:03:15 AM »
If you use the replicator to replicate ambrosia you can get forty servings of ambrosia with one death fish and one life fruit. Eighty servings if the replicator has been upgraded.

Edit:Sorry about that I didn't complete my post it was a technical issue.

Rachel
Please follow the forum rules.

Members with at least 25 posts do not see ads within a topic.

Sportsfan

  • Guest
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #3626 on: October 22, 2011, 11:05:00 AM »
If the re...?
Do you mean if you upgrade it?

Offline Metropolis Man

  • Tournament/Dynasty Coordinator
  • Administrator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 8160
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #3627 on: October 22, 2011, 11:06:27 AM »
Ah, Sportsfan, were you talking about using the replicator or just feeding an Omni plant with Death Fish to get more death fish? That's what I thought you were talking about and I wanted to point out that there is a limit to how many times a Omni Plant will bear fruit.

Offline cathyknits

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 1129
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #3628 on: October 22, 2011, 11:50:32 AM »
If you feed an OmniPlant deathfish, for each 1 you give it, you get 3 back. I think it works 5-6 times, so you could get 10-12 deathfish out of 1.

If you have an aquarium (comes with High End Loft Stuff, or there's a couple available on the Sims 3 Store) you can put two deathfish in and they'll breed. This won't work forever, but when they stop you can put two of the offspring back in the tank and start breeding again. So from two fish, you can get a potentially infinite number.

With the food replicator, upgraded, you might be able to get 60 dishes out of one fish - there are three slots, each of which holds 10 (non-upgraded) or 20 (upgraded) copies. This won't be enough to give your immortals ambrosia once a week forever, but if you cut it to once every two weeks it'll last a good, long time.

With 10 deathfish, you can build a pond on your property and stock it with deathfish. It might be easier to fish in this pond - if nothing else the deathfish are available 24/7 instead of only late at night.

Keep in mind that there's no requirement for perfect deathfish - ambrosia cooked fresh is always Perfect Quality, replicated is always Normal Quality, but you get immortality either way.

(Edit: if you're going the aquarium route, the "offspring" fish may or may not work for Opportunities. They're marked as "bred in captivity" rather than "caught by Your Sim", and I think I recall having an opportunity for a specific kind of fish that a captive-bred one didn't satisfy.)
Immortal Dynasty: A Bouquet of Blossoms

Offline Anjielicka

  • Llama Wrangler
  • **
  • Posts: 50
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #3629 on: October 22, 2011, 11:59:41 AM »
Thanks for the replies.

I am planning to either feed deathfish to an omni plant or replicate ambrosia through a replicator - whichever one I could get to first. The problem is getting to that 1 deathfish since a bug/glitch is preventing me from using a bait at all. Since Ricalynn had said that it is possible to catch a deathfish without bait, then I'll keep trying that - hopefully I'll manage to catch at least 1 before Grim comes for my founder. :)

Sportsfan

  • Guest
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #3630 on: October 22, 2011, 12:06:53 PM »
Ah, Sportsfan, were you talking about using the replicator or just feeding an Omni plant with Death Fish to get more death fish? That's what I thought you were talking about and I wanted to point out that there is a limit to how many times a Omni Plant will bear fruit.
Omni plant. And there is? That's news to me. Probably why the one in the science faculty isn't giving me anything anymore.

Offline cathyknits

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 1129
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #3631 on: October 22, 2011, 02:35:38 PM »
In a backup file, I was just able to confirm that if you build a pond on your lot and "stock" it with 10 fish of the same type, you can then fish with bait in that pond, even if you can't anywhere else. I wonder if "stock"ing an existing pond would jump-start it? I'm going to try that - goldfish are cheap at the grocery store. :)
Immortal Dynasty: A Bouquet of Blossoms

Offline Pam

  • Community Manager
  • Administrator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 15184
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #3632 on: October 22, 2011, 02:36:41 PM »
Omni plant. And there is? That's news to me. Probably why the one in the science faculty isn't giving me anything anymore.

The one at the Science Center is finicky.  Sometimes it produces and sometimes it doesn't.  With your home grown Omni plants, they actually die like any other plant when they're used up.

The problem is getting to that 1 deathfish since a bug/glitch is preventing me from using a bait at all.

There's an old bug in the game that I thought had been fixed, but it's worth a try.  Does your fishing Sim have Special Seeds in his inventory?  There were also some other things that could cause the glitch if they were in the personal inventory, but I don't recall what they are.  It wouldn't hurt to take a peek and see.

Offline cathyknits

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 1129
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #3633 on: October 22, 2011, 02:45:41 PM »
Stocking the existing pond didn't help - it just created a second, working fish spawner alongside the broken one. But at least now we know that if you can get one or two fish, you'll eventually be okay.
Immortal Dynasty: A Bouquet of Blossoms

Offline Metropolis Man

  • Tournament/Dynasty Coordinator
  • Administrator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 8160
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #3634 on: October 22, 2011, 03:04:05 PM »
Folks, if you're having issues with using bait after patching up (Tournament players take note as well), then here's a workaround...

In a backup file, I was just able to confirm that if you build a pond on your lot and "stock" it with 10 fish of the same type, you can then fish with bait in that pond, even if you can't anywhere else.

Thanks, cathyknits. :)

Offline Anjielicka

  • Llama Wrangler
  • **
  • Posts: 50
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #3635 on: October 22, 2011, 03:57:03 PM »
In a backup file, I was just able to confirm that if you build a pond on your lot and "stock" it with 10 fish of the same type, you can then fish with bait in that pond, even if you can't anywhere else. I wonder if "stock"ing an existing pond would jump-start it? I'm going to try that - goldfish are cheap at the grocery store. :)

That was one of the first things I tried - restocking one of the community ponds with alley catfish - and I was able to fish with cheese but all the other types of fishes in the pond disappeared and only the alley catfish remained.   :(

There's an old bug in the game that I thought had been fixed, but it's worth a try.  Does your fishing Sim have Special Seeds in his inventory?  There were also some other things that could cause the glitch if they were in the personal inventory, but I don't recall what they are.  It wouldn't hurt to take a peek and see.

I did read about that old bug and checked that I didn't have any seeds in my sims' inventory. What I haven't tried is removing everything in the inventory. Thanks for the suggestion, Pam.

Offline samoht04

  • Building Contest Coordinator
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 9407
    • Ravensgate Legacy Official Website
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #3636 on: October 23, 2011, 09:28:45 AM »
Metro, I'm playing in Hidden Springs and there is nowhere to put the JRA International Equestrian Centre (60x60) I've tried everywhere to place the lot and I've found somewhere it will go except there is an unnocupied house in that area. Most of HS is unroutable terrain. Can I move that house to another 30x40 Lot in order to place the new lot there?

Offline samoht04

  • Building Contest Coordinator
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 9407
    • Ravensgate Legacy Official Website
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #3637 on: October 23, 2011, 09:36:15 AM »
Never mind, I just saw one with a smaller lot (40x40) and it seems to offer the same services.

Offline Ricalynn

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 7949
  • Addicted to Dynasties? *shady eyes* Not me.
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #3638 on: October 23, 2011, 12:43:14 PM »
I know ratchie had problems with her decadynasty, but I'm wondering if anyone else has had problems with random game crashes and save errors a lot on existing files. 
"Let's eat, Grandma!" vs "Let's eat Grandma!"   Use proper punctuation to save lives! (Plus it's a rule.)

Read and follow the Forum Rules or be made to eat spam sammiches!

Stories: Artie | The Race | Grim Chronicles | Revenge | Licious

Offline ratchie

  • Challenge Board Assistant
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 4853
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #3639 on: October 23, 2011, 12:48:59 PM »
All of my saved game files that I started prior to installing Pets have gone loopy on me. My daughter has been playing a Pets file for hours and that has been fine.

Rachel
Please follow the forum rules.

Offline Ricalynn

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 7949
  • Addicted to Dynasties? *shady eyes* Not me.
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #3640 on: October 23, 2011, 01:28:05 PM »
My new legacy is the same way.  I can play all day without any problems but I can't make it through one day of my dynasty files without a crash or saving error or crashing while saving.   I started the game, placed the lots and got an error 12 once.  It's simply frustrating.  I'm tempted to give up Pets just to finish my original dynasties and hope it helps.
"Let's eat, Grandma!" vs "Let's eat Grandma!"   Use proper punctuation to save lives! (Plus it's a rule.)

Read and follow the Forum Rules or be made to eat spam sammiches!

Stories: Artie | The Race | Grim Chronicles | Revenge | Licious

Offline samoht04

  • Building Contest Coordinator
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 9407
    • Ravensgate Legacy Official Website
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #3641 on: October 23, 2011, 01:29:53 PM »
My new legacy is the same way.  I can play all day without any problems but I can't make it through one day of my dynasty files without a crash or saving error or crashing while saving.   I started the game, placed the lots and got an error 12 once.  It's simply frustrating.  I'm tempted to give up Pets just to finish my original dynasties and hope it helps.

There is a thread in the Pets Board about Pets Crashing, I think it is called Pets Crashing or something. Someone posted a tutorial on how to fix it, if it's the same issue with your Computer that is.

EDIT - Here is it!

Offline Ricalynn

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 7949
  • Addicted to Dynasties? *shady eyes* Not me.
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #3642 on: October 23, 2011, 01:48:24 PM »
Unfortunately DEP does nothing for a Mac.  :-\
"Let's eat, Grandma!" vs "Let's eat Grandma!"   Use proper punctuation to save lives! (Plus it's a rule.)

Read and follow the Forum Rules or be made to eat spam sammiches!

Stories: Artie | The Race | Grim Chronicles | Revenge | Licious

Offline Danielle

  • Nooboo
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #3643 on: October 23, 2011, 04:40:43 PM »
Will there be restrictions added on son to the rules for the pets expansion? My main question is if there is a restriction to the number of pets you can create in CAS with generation 1?

Offline Metropolis Man

  • Tournament/Dynasty Coordinator
  • Administrator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 8160
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #3644 on: October 23, 2011, 04:44:58 PM »
Will there be restrictions added on son to the rules for the pets expansion? My main question is if there is a restriction to the number of pets you can create in CAS with generation 1?

No restrictions. You can create the max (6) if you wish along with your founder.

Offline Lasnien

  • Townie
  • ***
  • Posts: 245
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #3645 on: October 25, 2011, 08:16:47 PM »
I was wandering around Appaloosa Plains, deciding if I would finally buckle down and make a serious attempt at an Immortal Dynasty, when I noticed there are only 7 buildings in town. Plenty of properties, but those multiple rabbit-hole buildings are a killer. Just thought I'd point that out in case anyone was thinking of starting a Dynasty there.

Offline Alexandria_

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 2292
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #3646 on: October 25, 2011, 08:24:45 PM »
I have great news - I just finished my dynasty ;D
However, in my story, I'm only up to generation 7's immortality. But I was too excited to not announce it!

Sportsfan

  • Guest
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #3647 on: October 25, 2011, 08:29:14 PM »
Congratulations Alexandria!

*goes to start reading the story*

Offline Ricalynn

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 7949
  • Addicted to Dynasties? *shady eyes* Not me.
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #3648 on: October 25, 2011, 08:45:18 PM »
Oh my!  Congratulations Alexandria_!  That is so exciting!  I'm so happy for you!
"Let's eat, Grandma!" vs "Let's eat Grandma!"   Use proper punctuation to save lives! (Plus it's a rule.)

Read and follow the Forum Rules or be made to eat spam sammiches!

Stories: Artie | The Race | Grim Chronicles | Revenge | Licious

Offline Metropolis Man

  • Tournament/Dynasty Coordinator
  • Administrator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 8160
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #3649 on: October 25, 2011, 08:49:12 PM »
Congrats, Alexandria_!