Author Topic: How do you use friezes?  (Read 84595 times)

Offline CharlotteDaBookworm

• Occult
  • Call me Charlotte, Charlie or Char
How do you use friezes?
« on: March 21, 2011, 01:13:09 PM »
Hi, sorry if this has been asked anywere else, but I was wondering if anyone could tell me how to use friezes. I can turn the cheat on and such but I've seen some houses with them right next to walls and such which I just can't do. Thanks already for any help.

Offline Lilygirl

• Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • Let's spread kindness, grace, and joy.
Re: How do you use friezes?
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2011, 04:04:28 PM »
Hey Sims3lover. I will admit up front I am no expert and my experience with friezes (placefriezes on/off) consists of one house built with the cheat (check it out in my sig.) I will share with you what I learned.

First, you cannot have two different heights connected to one another. Whether it's foundation next to a wall, a frieze next to a foundation or a wall, it can't be done. You need one square of space in between for correction - that's where the slanted walls come from. And to connect walls of different heights, you need to use the constrainfloorelevation true/false cheat.

Second, the frieze is available after you turn that cheat on and it is the foundation tool that you use for it. To me it seems to be about 1/3 the height of a regular wall, but I haven't tried stacking friezes to check this. What I do know it that a frieze is taller than a foundation (1/4 the height of a wall) but not quite 1/2 the height of a wall.

Third, a frieze cannot be placed on the ground, or on flooring on the ground; the game tells me it can't be built on the ground floor, it needs to be built on top of existing walls or foundation.

Please allow me some time to take and post pictures to illustrate my points. I will be back here asap.

EDIT March 21: Here's the pictures with a play-by-play of what I did.