Author Topic: Default replacement recolours  (Read 1774 times)

Chuckles_82

  • Guest
Default replacement recolours
« on: March 10, 2013, 04:28:46 AM »
May I upload my default colour replacement for rabbit holes and other objects here?

Offline Pam

  • Community Manager
  • Administrator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 15236
Re: Default replacement recolours
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2013, 04:34:31 AM »
As long as it's just a re-color and doesn't have any third party CC, it's fine.
Read and heed the Forum Rules, please!

Support the site when you purchase online!
Dreamweaver Immortal Dynasty
Dreamweaver 4 x 4 Dynasty
Pam's Sims 4 World Blog

"Half of my posts are correcting people. The other 49% is moving threads."



Registered members do not see ads on this Forum. Register here.

Chuckles_82

  • Guest
Re: Default replacement recolours
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2013, 04:36:54 AM »
Thank you Pam. I'm going to start a thread in the near future with all the recolours that will be contained in my current work-in-progress - Cypress Lakes, for people to download individually if they want them.


Offline Ricalynn

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 8431
  • Addicted to Dynasties? *shady eyes* Not me.
Re: Default replacement recolours
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2013, 10:58:04 AM »
How were you able to recolor the rabbit holes?
Origin ID: Ricalynn
Current Active Stories: Artie's TS4 Dynasty || Grim Rivalries

Please read and follow the Forum Rules.

Stories: Artie | The Race | Grim Chronicles | Revenge | Licious

Chuckles_82

  • Guest
Re: Default replacement recolours
« Reply #4 on: March 10, 2013, 06:12:38 PM »
I did each individual file in photoshop. They are default replacements. As part of my world they will just be considered recolours, because they will be included in the .world file. As individual files, they are like mods. They go in the overrides folder.

Offline Pam

  • Community Manager
  • Administrator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 15236
Re: Default replacement recolours
« Reply #5 on: March 11, 2013, 01:10:14 AM »
Ok, let's hold off on this, Chuckles.  They aren't uploaded like normal items, say, from the Store?  They have to be downloaded into another person's game as a mod?  That puts a different light on it.  If it's going to be like a mod, we won't be able to allow that.
Read and heed the Forum Rules, please!

Support the site when you purchase online!
Dreamweaver Immortal Dynasty
Dreamweaver 4 x 4 Dynasty
Pam's Sims 4 World Blog

"Half of my posts are correcting people. The other 49% is moving threads."

Chuckles_82

  • Guest
Re: Default replacement recolours
« Reply #6 on: March 11, 2013, 01:26:22 AM »
Ok, I'll hold off on that. It would be a shame not to be able to include each part separately. Would I be able to post a link if someone could recommend a free file sharing service? I've never done that before, but would like to be able to include each separate part of the world for individual download.



Registered members do not see ads on this Forum. Register here.

Offline Pam

  • Community Manager
  • Administrator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 15236
Re: Default replacement recolours
« Reply #7 on: March 11, 2013, 01:47:05 AM »
Is it correct that the game would treat it like a mod?
Read and heed the Forum Rules, please!

Support the site when you purchase online!
Dreamweaver Immortal Dynasty
Dreamweaver 4 x 4 Dynasty
Pam's Sims 4 World Blog

"Half of my posts are correcting people. The other 49% is moving threads."

Chuckles_82

  • Guest
Re: Default replacement recolours
« Reply #8 on: March 11, 2013, 04:14:32 AM »
I'm not as knowledgeable as to what constitutes a mod, but it does tell the game to use my colours instead of the original, so I'm guessing yes. I had a discussion somewhere on here a while back, and it was decided that when the files are added to the .world file, it's not, but when it's an individual package on it's own, it is. When it's part of the .world file, it doesn't require any additional installation - it gets installed with the world, and only works in that world. But as an individual file, it works in all worlds unless you remove it from the overrides folder.

thesweetestpea

  • Guest
Re: Default replacement recolours
« Reply #9 on: March 11, 2013, 09:48:02 AM »
Default recolors of buildings are not mods, they're custom content. They do exactly the same thing that any other default replacement does. As well as altering the game files, they modify images and textures that the game uses in such a way that if they're wrong, the whole game goes kaputt. Think stretched babies in Technicolor quadruplicate here. They are not to be trifled with if you don't know what you're doing, and I believe that having them on this forum is going to breach the policy on custom content.

Offline Pam

  • Community Manager
  • Administrator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 15236
Re: Default replacement recolours
« Reply #10 on: March 11, 2013, 02:28:05 PM »
In light of what we've learned, I have to say no to your project, Chuckles. I'm sorry.
Read and heed the Forum Rules, please!

Support the site when you purchase online!
Dreamweaver Immortal Dynasty
Dreamweaver 4 x 4 Dynasty
Pam's Sims 4 World Blog

"Half of my posts are correcting people. The other 49% is moving threads."