Author Topic: Inexpensive Ornate Rugs!  (Read 3210 times)

Dellena

Inexpensive Ornate Rugs!
« on: May 14, 2014, 06:29:54 AM »
If you're into decorating your houses and want to spice up a room.  You might consider a rug.  But they can be expensive - the largest, the Chandelier Rug, is 300.  And you only get two channels to play with to try and make it look ornate.

Well if you have Ambitions, I have a top tip for you!

Ceiling Tiles

In build mode and flooring, there's a tab called Ceiling Tiles.  The beauty of these is they can be use on the floor or ceiling.  It's also much cheaper to make an ornate looking rug with these tiles since they only cost 6 to 11 each.  Here's some examples of what I managed to do in my Villa Capri Mansion (which I started playing but there's so much in the house that it was lagging, so I've opted to remove nearly all the rugs and use this method - now they're just floor tiles but look gorgeous!):

I used carpet patterns that I had for the 'background' and then a metallic pattern for the scroll work.

This time I used one of the rock patterns for a marble effect and again, a metallic pattern for the inlay.

I'm pretty pleased with these.

I hope you find this useful.

Offline Pam

• Community Manager
  • Forum Founder and Friend
  • Watcher
Re: Inexpensive Ornate Rugs!
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2014, 09:30:33 AM »
Very clever, Dellena.  I like the looks of these.  :)
Read and heed the Forum Rules, please!

Support the site when you purchase online!
Dreamweaver Immortal Dynasty
Dreamweaver 4 x 4 Dynasty
Pam's Sims 4 World Blog

"Half of my posts are correcting people. The other 49% is moving threads."

Registered members do not see ads on this Forum. Register here.

Offline Trip

• Challenge Board Assistant
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • Three Chihuahuas in a Trenchcoat
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2014, 09:34:34 AM »
These look awesome! The buyable rugs in game always infuriated me because of how limited they are.