Author Topic: Sims 3 - Factory Reset: Fix Your Game with 1/4 the Time of a Reinstall  (Read 135672 times)

brappl

  • Guest
Factory Reset
« Reply #125 on: June 23, 2013, 06:03:28 PM »
Rica, I have your instructions for a factory reset and decided I want to do it the correct way this time... by following your instructions exactly.   Have a couple of questions for you:

When I put my downloads back in the folder to install via the Launcher is there a limit of how many I can install in one go.  I seem to remember reading somewhere that the Launcher can not handle massive installs and it is best to do maybe 200m at a time.  Or has that issue been resolved by EA. 

DCCache:  I am not planning on putting the store and 3rd party (.ebc/.dbc) files back in.  They will be recreated, correct?  And, if I adjust the configuration file so the .dcb files will only hold so much wouldn't it be easier to keep track of what is actually in those files by recreating smaller ones?

Guess that was more than a couple of questions..  thanks in advance!

Offline Ricalynn

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 8431
  • Addicted to Dynasties? *shady eyes* Not me.
Re: Factory Reset
« Reply #126 on: June 23, 2013, 06:07:34 PM »
When you install via the launcher that is where the DCCache gets the .ebc/dcb files.   The new launcher with the updated patch will actually handle installing a lot of items now so give it a try.   I think it's one of the reasons we have .tmp files now.    With the way the launcher works, it now creates smaller files when loading everything up at once.
Origin ID: Ricalynn
Current Active Stories: Artie's TS4 Dynasty || Grim Rivalries

Please read and follow the Forum Rules.

Stories: Artie | The Race | Grim Chronicles | Revenge | Licious



Registered members do not see ads on this Forum. Register here.

brappl

  • Guest
Re: Factory Reset
« Reply #127 on: June 23, 2013, 06:22:27 PM »
Thanks Rica.  I will give it a try.   I'm up in the air about those .tmp files though.  I hope I am wrong but they seem to be recreating an existing .ebc or .dbc file (depending where you are downloading from) and just adding the new install(s) to that, which in effect, is bloating the files.  This should not impact people with a lot of disc space but for others it could be limiting. 



Offline Ricalynn

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 8431
  • Addicted to Dynasties? *shady eyes* Not me.
Re: Factory Reset
« Reply #128 on: June 23, 2013, 06:30:15 PM »
The reason for the .tmp files is the .tmp files is what keeps the items able to be found in your launcher.   So it is a recreation of the other files - it's only purpose I can find is so that you can find what you're looking for when you need to uninstall it.
Origin ID: Ricalynn
Current Active Stories: Artie's TS4 Dynasty || Grim Rivalries

Please read and follow the Forum Rules.

Stories: Artie | The Race | Grim Chronicles | Revenge | Licious

Offline samoht04

  • Building Contest Coordinator
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 9401
Re: Factory Reset
« Reply #129 on: June 25, 2013, 07:07:22 AM »
We have a thread for Factory Reset so I'll merge this one with that one.
Please read the Forum Rules![/center]

Offline riennnnnnn

  • NPC
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Factory Reset: Fix Your Game with 1/4 the Time of a Reinstall
« Reply #130 on: July 17, 2013, 08:20:12 PM »
this has been basically my day as I try to fix my very unhappy game and it has certainly made life a lot easier than re-installing from scratch so THANK YOU! and for the most part (outside of things I'm still trying to fix) it has made things so much better, and whoever suggesting deleting that cache was a genius, mine was almost 3gb! (not the important one, the unimportant one)

Offline simlover16

  • Townie
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
    • The Power of Knowledge Immortal Dynasty
Re: Factory Reset: Fix Your Game with 1/4 the Time of a Reinstall
« Reply #131 on: July 25, 2013, 01:04:21 PM »
This method or way looks very familiar to kind of "recreating or cleaning" your cache files. What I mean, is its somewhat similair to what it does.
 I'm gonna investigate my game a little more before trying this. I'm doing this because I attempted to play one of my older game files (hadn't played it since April 2013) last night, and it totally bugged out. So, I think I'll launch it one more time and see what happens then I'll do a factory reset.
 I'll be sure to backup my computer to time machine so if it goes, as my mammaw calls it, "KAPOOIEE!"
Thanks for writing this up! :)
"You're waiting for a train. A train that'll take you far away. You know where you hope this train will take you. But you can't know for sure. Yet it doesn't matter. Now, tell me why?" -Dom Cobb



Registered members do not see ads on this Forum. Register here.

Offline simlover16

  • Townie
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
    • The Power of Knowledge Immortal Dynasty
Re: Factory Reset: Fix Your Game with 1/4 the Time of a Reinstall
« Reply #132 on: August 04, 2013, 05:32:18 PM »
I thank you from the bottom-of-my-heart for writing this and giving easy to follow instructions!

  I did this in hopes of fixing my game. It was easy to do and I'm testing it out now! My dynasty and another family are unplayable/ possibly corrupt so this was all was left to do. I'm barely sane and I hope this takes care of it or my dynasty would be an EPIC FAIL. I'm kind of disgusted with my game...

 Fingers crossed its OK!

*I also recommend that if your not completely sure about what your doing, that you make a backup. I'm a Mac user, and I use Time Machine. I nearly had a panic attack when I launched the game and had no saves, I thought I had done something wrong! (LOL, that's why you copy them over!) One "booboo" could cause A LOT of chaos!
"You're waiting for a train. A train that'll take you far away. You know where you hope this train will take you. But you can't know for sure. Yet it doesn't matter. Now, tell me why?" -Dom Cobb

Offline KrisVicious

  • Llama Wrangler
  • **
  • Posts: 36
  • KrisVicious
    • KrisVicious Sims Stories
Re: Factory Reset: Fix Your Game with 1/4 the Time of a Reinstall
« Reply #133 on: August 10, 2013, 07:26:57 PM »
ok i got a problem. i moved everything i was suppose to, but my content from sunlight tides isn't showing up

Offline jonas3333

  • NPC
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Factory Reset: Fix Your Game with 1/4 the Time of a Reinstall
« Reply #134 on: August 24, 2013, 06:44:49 PM »
Hi.
I'm planning to do a factory reset due to horrible Create a Style lag that I've been experiencing for several years now.  From what I've read, it's generally a bad/corrupt pattern that causes this. 
My concern is with the saved sims that I have. Some of which of I've downloaded. Sometimes, their bin picture shows a different patterned shirt that does not come with the sim.
Also, it's possible that sims I've made in previous installments attempts had patterns that I had before and while they don't show up in the styles selection, I'm wondering if there is some hidden shell of a corrupt pattern in there.
Should this be a cause for concern?
Should I redress/save to bin all my sims in base game clothing to insure that there are no ghost patterns?

The same is a possibility for downloaded lots. Should we just never download others lots from anywhere? 

And is it safe to use the Create-a-Pattern tool? Or download others patterns from anywhere?

Any info about solving this corrupt pattern issue is appreciated. I know it only takes one in that .dbc folder to mess it all up.

Offline Angélique

  • Townie
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
Re: Factory Reset: Fix Your Game with 1/4 the Time of a Reinstall
« Reply #135 on: August 24, 2013, 07:33:18 PM »
I think you can find lots of valuable information about this if you go here.

Offline jonas3333

  • NPC
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Factory Reset: Fix Your Game with 1/4 the Time of a Reinstall
« Reply #136 on: August 24, 2013, 08:44:24 PM »
Thanks Angelique! That's a great help.  I do still want to know if it's safe to dl patterns and houses. Maybe convert or decrapify them before installing?

Also, will the factory reset clear everything from my launcher content? I want it to. I know i have the tedious task of re-installing all the dang store items, but there are patterns in my launcher set I want gone.

Offline Angélique

  • Townie
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
Re: Factory Reset: Fix Your Game with 1/4 the Time of a Reinstall
« Reply #137 on: August 25, 2013, 11:42:36 AM »
I don't think anybody can tell you for sure if it's safe to download all sorts of CC from various websites. There's definitely a risk involved with it, and you are the only one who could decide for yourself if the value of the CC is bigger than the risk. However there is a couple of tools that you could use to determine if your CC is bad or not, they're called Delphys Dashboard and CleanInstaller. Maybe you have tried them already? I don't think they're 100% effective, though.

I now have 1.34 GB of EA made Store items, but I have never downloaded any third party CC, and I never will. That's because I don't think it's worth the risk of messing up my game, and also, I like to create my own sims and build my own houses and lots, and therefore I don't feel the need to use others.

I'm not quite sure what you mean by "launcher content"? As far as I know the launcher doesn't contain anything in itself, it only shows you the contents of your Downloads folder if you click the Downloads tab, and if you click Installed it shows you what you have installed into your game, and also gives you the possibility to uninstall one or more items if you want that.

The factory reset will make a new clean and empty The sims 3 folder in your Electronic Arts folder, so those of your downloads that you want back in your game, you'll have to reinstall via the Launcher once again. The ones you don't want you could just delete and be done with. And when you install the ones you want, do it only one or two at a time, and check the game in between to see if it/they does/do any harm to it or not.



Offline the doobie

  • NPC
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Factory Reset: Fix Your Game with 1/4 the Time of a Reinstall
« Reply #138 on: April 23, 2014, 08:11:25 PM »
This used to work for me.  Not anymore.  Now after I change the name of the folder to The Sims 3 Old in Documents and restart the game it crashes the computer again.  >:( But I do have a new folder labeled The Sims 3.

Offline Rikki8528

  • Immortal
  • *****
  • Posts: 526
  • Sims 3 Fan
Re: Factory Reset: Fix Your Game with 1/4 the Time of a Reinstall
« Reply #139 on: June 11, 2014, 03:01:04 PM »
Is there any way to have your store stuff in both files?

Offline Mj_Highfield13

  • NPC
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Factory Reset: Fix Your Game with 1/4 the Time of a Reinstall
« Reply #140 on: June 15, 2014, 12:09:15 PM »
I tried this today, because I've been having some very annoying game play glitches going on for the last couple weeks. It worked but I didn't realize you'd loose all your game play. So I copied my saved files into the new folder, when I opened up Sims again the family I had been playing was there but when I start the game it says. "A very serious error has occurred we recommend you restart the game" Well something on those lines, so I did but it still comes up! I have been working on this town for quite some time and I've been very happy with the outcome I'd really like not to have to restart from scratch again because of this error. Does anyone have some tips or suggestions? Or maybe I didn't do it correctly.

Offline IrelandRose

  • NPC
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Factory Reset: Fix Your Game with 1/4 the Time of a Reinstall
« Reply #141 on: June 23, 2014, 10:33:25 PM »
First of all I am not good at this kind of thing so bare with me, so I didn't read all of your post about the reset because I was eager to get this fixed so I missed the part about the warning so I did the first part & I'm wondering if I messed it up.  Now my new sims 3 folder did have things in it.  It has collections all the way down to thumbnails with a few cache.package.  Is that suppose to be there?  I did the documents part but I'm not sure where to find the folder name with a number & user ID.  My problem is this:  I got a new update and a patch then when I went to load my game it told me that i have installed an unofficial game mod but how is that possible?  They want me to uninstall these or get updated versions of them. Which I have no idea how to update them.  I also haven't backed up any files at all & didn't know I needed to do that with each installation. When I go to the main menu nothing is there I can't log in either and no towns.  Is what you posted what I need to do?  Its been 4 days since I've played my game and I don't like it. :'(  I'm thinking I will just uninstall all 13 EPs & stuff packs and start over, no one will tell me what to do and I'm having sims withdrawal. >:(  My game was freezing & hesitating & running slowly so I think it will be best to redo it all before I go crazy.

Offline LittleMissSims

  • Nooboo
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Factory Reset: Fix Your Game with 1/4 the Time of a Reinstall
« Reply #142 on: July 22, 2014, 03:14:11 AM »
Firstly, thank you for putting this up! I will most likely try it because my game is really laggy.
I am a little confused about this part of the instructions:

Warning: Showtime added new data to The Sims 3 folder, and doing a full "factory reset" will cause you to lose data relating to your in-game SimPort progress.

Go to Documents \ The Sims 3 \ Downloads and find the folder named with a number (your user ID). Make a backup of that folder before you do anything. If you use the Factory Reset method for different challenges, you might want to move this folder around whenever you use a different The Sims 3 folder, so you can keep your progress. (Thanks NonaMena)

What do I do with the backup folder that i have made? Do I copy that over like I do with my Downloads and Saves?
Thanks in advance,
LittleMissSims

Offline Morgaroni

  • NPC
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Factory Reset: Fix Your Game with 1/4 the Time of a Reinstall
« Reply #143 on: July 29, 2014, 07:12:44 PM »
Hi, really stressed out right now,sorry. Anyway, I want to this this to resolve the please reinstall the base game error. Does this work without that step in the middle to open the game?
 Thanks so much,
Morgaroni

Offline KhaineGB

  • Immortal
  • *****
  • Posts: 744
Re: Factory Reset: Fix Your Game with 1/4 the Time of a Reinstall
« Reply #144 on: July 29, 2014, 09:23:14 PM »
If you're being told to reinstall the base game, then that means your Operating System doesn't have the required entries to know the game is there.

So you WILL have to reinstall it.

Offline Morgaroni

  • NPC
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Factory Reset: Fix Your Game with 1/4 the Time of a Reinstall
« Reply #145 on: July 30, 2014, 09:15:02 AM »
That's weird because I've had the game for 3/4 years and this had never come up before...

Offline Tandrael

  • Townie
  • ***
  • Posts: 163
Re: Factory Reset: Fix Your Game with 1/4 the Time of a Reinstall
« Reply #146 on: August 08, 2014, 11:30:32 AM »
I don't know if I should ask here or start another thread: I'll ask here first.

Somewhere at the beginning of the year I bought Dragon Valley and it was working fine, I even started an Inmortal Dynasty there and played with it for a while but didn't go too far.

Recently I bought "Generations" and "Show time", the last EP I needed: now I have ALL of the expansion packs. I read it is better to unistall everything when you get new EP so I did. Dragon Valley is not an EP so I didn't unistall it.

I've been playing Challenges, where we don't use Store bought things so when the launcher opens, at the "Installed content" tap I clicked where it says "run without custom content".

Now I wanted to start a game in Dragon Valley and when I start the game and click the "new game" plus sing, there is no Dragon Valley in the list. If I load any other town nothing of the store content appears, it's as if I had clicked the "run without custom content" but I didn't.

I made a backup file of "the Sims 3" file I had and did a FACTORY RESET, went to "the Sims Store/purchase history" to download everything again: it does download, but still doesn't appear in the game.

I followed step by step everything that Flynn Arrowstarr  said in his " How To: Re-Install Sims Store Items" thread: nothing happened, in fact following his steps now my "downloads", "uploads" and "installed content" taps are empty and when I try to download my things from the Store nothing happens.

If I copy-paste the towns from my backup "InstalledWorlds" folder, they would appear in the "downloads" tap, then I would try to download them from there: nothing happens, I ended with three Dragon valleys in the "downloads" tap but nothing in the game.

I did another factory reset; nothing happened. I copy-pasted my backup file back, change its name back to just "The Sims 3", followed the steps from Mr. Arrowstarr in that folder: nothing.

The last time something weird like this happened to me I uninstalled everything and intalled them back, but this its store content so I don't know it that would work.

CURIOUS NOTE: remember I have a started game in Dragon Valley? It loads just fine, but in the town everything is called different, for example when I hover over the theater instead of saying "theater" it says "DOT09_World/RabbitHole/LotAddress:Theater". Same happens with the Sims, all but mine, if I hover over a Sim instead of saying "Aislin" it says "Gameplay/Excel/DTO09-World/Sims:Aislin"

Please help, I don't know what else to do and I really want my dragons back! :)
¡Pura vida!

Offline Harmlessoldlady

  • Llama Wrangler
  • **
  • Posts: 47
Re: Factory Reset: Fix Your Game with 1/4 the Time of a Reinstall
« Reply #147 on: August 21, 2014, 12:43:47 PM »

I've been playing Challenges, where we don't use Store bought things so when the launcher opens, at the "Installed content" tap I clicked where it says "run without custom content".



Hi, Tandrael
I have never clicked "run without custom content", so I don't know if I'm going to be helpful, but from your post, it appears none of your custom content is working. My understanding (and I'm no expert) is that everything but the base game and EPs is "custom." Everything you buy in the store, all the venues are "custom content." I could be wrong.

Have you tried un-clicking that "run without" button?

I tried some challenges once and the suggestion was to create separate game folders for challenges, so your regular games with all the cool store stuff would run in a whole different game. I think the Factory Reset clean file can be copied over and renamed to do this, if I recall.

Offline saltpastillen

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 2576
Re: Factory Reset: Fix Your Game with 1/4 the Time of a Reinstall
« Reply #148 on: August 21, 2014, 01:02:42 PM »
Hi, Tandrael
I have never clicked "run without custom content", so I don't know if I'm going to be helpful, but from your post, it appears none of your custom content is working. My understanding (and I'm no expert) is that everything but the base game and EPs is "custom." Everything you buy in the store, all the venues are "custom content." I could be wrong.

Have you tried un-clicking that "run without" button?

I tried some challenges once and the suggestion was to create separate game folders for challenges, so your regular games with all the cool store stuff would run in a whole different game. I think the Factory Reset clean file can be copied over and renamed to do this, if I recall.

I think you are right, store stuff is also considered Custom Content by the game.

Offline MrsFlynn

  • Admin Assistant
  • Administrator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 5267
Re: Factory Reset: Fix Your Game with 1/4 the Time of a Reinstall
« Reply #149 on: October 05, 2014, 12:44:16 AM »
I am locking this thread. As it was originally suppose to be for information purposes only.

If you have a technical problem, please go ahead and post a new message by going to the main technical board and select New Topic.

Technical Help - Sims 3
http://www.carls-sims-4-guide.com/forum/index.php/board,12.0.html

This will help us to see your questions better and get an answer quicker.

Thank you!! :)

The Techie Team
New Members, Welcome!! We hope you enjoy the forum!!  Thank you for visiting!!
Need Help? Check our Member FAQs Here. * -- Read and follow the Forum Rules, please! *

 

anything