Author Topic: HELP - stuck sims  (Read 1318 times)

atikin

  • Guest
HELP - stuck sims
« on: November 27, 2011, 02:45:23 AM »
My Sim had 6 boys that have grown up and all have their own children now.
I went on this afternoon to find that all of those Sims (the 6 boys) can't be played with. I can't seem to select them or their little box, they move on the spot (swing arms, etc.) but no walking or actions.
The other Sims in that household are.

When I look at their family tree, the relationship connections are not normal as you can only see the Sim's child through their wives.

I have tried using the reset Sim cheat, but no change. Has anyone else come across this and know what to do?

Offline Twinmum

  • Building inspector and trouble shooter
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 2898
Re: HELP - stuck sims
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2011, 03:07:27 AM »
You say, they all have their own children. Do they still live on the home lot or have they moved out?

Norma
Have you read the Forum Rules?
And please try to remember Capitals, Commas and Apostrophes when you post.
Check out  Twinmum's creations on the Gallery for Sims 4 creations and Twinsom Realty for my Sims 3 Creations
For something non Sims - check out the miniatures I make at MiniisByTwinmum



Registered members do not see ads on this Forum. Register here.

atikin

  • Guest
Re: HELP - stuck sims
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2011, 03:11:31 AM »
They have all moved out into separate homes with their families.
Both of their parents have died.

Offline Twinmum

  • Building inspector and trouble shooter
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 2898
Re: HELP - stuck sims
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2011, 03:16:02 AM »
To play other families, including children who have moved out, you need to go into edit town and switch the active household to whatever family you want to play. Have you tried that?
Also Sims who move out of the family home are subject to story progression, and may not even live in town anymore, meaning you won't be able to play them.
Is there anyone still living in the family home? If so, have you had them call the boys and invite them over?

Norma
Have you read the Forum Rules?
And please try to remember Capitals, Commas and Apostrophes when you post.
Check out  Twinmum's creations on the Gallery for Sims 4 creations and Twinsom Realty for my Sims 3 Creations
For something non Sims - check out the miniatures I make at MiniisByTwinmum

atikin

  • Guest
Re: HELP - stuck sims
« Reply #4 on: November 27, 2011, 03:23:35 AM »
I was the one who moved them out of their home and into new houses.
I play with each family regularly (by changing active household).
A grandson of the dead grandparents is living in the original house.

Offline Twinmum

  • Building inspector and trouble shooter
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 2898
Re: HELP - stuck sims
« Reply #5 on: November 27, 2011, 03:29:48 AM »
OK, I'm not sure then why you can't play them then. You said their family trees were messed up, I know there was/is a bug with people travelling ang marrying someone from the vacation destination, but I'm not sure of the specifics.
Hopefully someone else will read this and be able to shed some light on the problem for you. Sorry I couldn't help


Norma
Have you read the Forum Rules?
And please try to remember Capitals, Commas and Apostrophes when you post.
Check out  Twinmum's creations on the Gallery for Sims 4 creations and Twinsom Realty for my Sims 3 Creations
For something non Sims - check out the miniatures I make at MiniisByTwinmum

atikin

  • Guest
Re: HELP - stuck sims
« Reply #6 on: November 27, 2011, 04:01:22 AM »
It's ok. Thanks anyway. Hopefully someone else can.



Registered members do not see ads on this Forum. Register here.

Dellena

  • Guest
Re: HELP - stuck sims
« Reply #7 on: November 27, 2011, 04:06:52 AM »
You could try deleting the cache files.  They're regenerated when you start the game.

You find them under the My Documents\Electronic Arts\The Sims 3 folder.

The four to delete are:

CASPartCache.package
scriptCache.package
compositorCache.package
simCompositorCache.package

atikin

  • Guest
Re: HELP - stuck sims
« Reply #8 on: November 27, 2011, 04:26:29 AM »
What are the cache files?

And is their any risk of my sims being deleted or game being lost?

loveSims

  • Guest
Re: HELP - stuck sims
« Reply #9 on: November 27, 2011, 07:00:44 AM »
Go to Carls's guide there is a technical help section that explain everything. :)

Offline Pam

  • Community Manager
  • Forum Founder and Friend
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 15235
Re: HELP - stuck sims
« Reply #10 on: November 28, 2011, 09:13:34 PM »
What are the cache files

and is their any risk of my sims being deleted or game being lost

You can safely delete the cache files without your Sims or game being lost.  Just follow the directions that Dellena gave you a couple of posts up.  This may not help your problem because it sounds like you might have a bug.  Have your families traveled to any of the World Adventures locations?  You can also try a global reset by opening the cheats panel with Ctrl+Shift+C and typing "testingcheatsenabled true" then type "ResetSim *".  Resetting with the * instead of a Sim name will reset every Sim in the game and can sometimes help with stuck Sims.

If none of this helps, give us some more information and we'll try to help.
Read and heed the Forum Rules, please!

Support the site when you purchase online!
Dreamweaver Immortal Dynasty
Dreamweaver 4 x 4 Dynasty
Pam's Sims 4 World Blog

"Half of my posts are correcting people. The other 49% is moving threads."

Sportsfan

  • Guest
Re: HELP - stuck sims
« Reply #11 on: November 28, 2011, 10:04:26 PM »
I don't think you need to do testingcheats to do resetsim *

Offline Seabody

  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 5117
Re: HELP - stuck sims
« Reply #12 on: November 28, 2011, 10:25:21 PM »
You don't need TestingCheats for resetsim. I tried it without recently and it worked.

atikin

  • Guest
Re: HELP - stuck sims
« Reply #13 on: November 28, 2011, 10:57:51 PM »
Deleted cache files and nothing changed apart from game running slower. Anyway, I deleted that town because the problems were annoying me.
 
Anyway, I'm getting Sims 3 Pets for Christmas!  (So excited!!)  So, planning on using that town as my main one as it's more country style, as I have read, and that's where I sort of live so it would be AWESOME!

And some of my Sims for those families did travel in World Adventures.

 

anything