Author Topic: Placing Dive Lots in Other Worlds  (Read 28870 times)

Offline Ricalynn

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 8431
  • Addicted to Dynasties? *shady eyes* Not me.
Placing Dive Lots in Other Worlds
« on: June 25, 2013, 12:56:45 PM »
IronboatLee on the official forums figured out how to place Dive Spots in new towns. 

I have yet to try it out but I do have one saved to try in a few minutes. 
Origin ID: Ricalynn
Current Active Stories: Artie's TS4 Dynasty || Grim Rivalries

Please read and follow the Forum Rules.

Stories: Artie | The Race | Grim Chronicles | Revenge | Licious

Offline doxxielover

  • Immortal
  • *****
  • Posts: 668
  • Hello everyone!
Re: Placing Dive Lots in Other Worlds
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2013, 01:40:45 PM »
Yay I was really hopeing we could find a way to do this. Yay!!:)
I love this forum and just want to say thank you to everyone! :) Have a great rest of your day!



Registered members do not see ads on this Forum. Register here.

Offline Niana

  • Occult
  • ****
  • Posts: 301
Re: Placing Dive Lots in Other Worlds
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2013, 01:44:51 PM »
Here's hoping that it works! I saw another thread with how to build your own functioning dive lots, but this means we could use them in dynasties possibly!

Offline Ricalynn

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 8431
  • Addicted to Dynasties? *shady eyes* Not me.
Re: Placing Dive Lots in Other Worlds
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2013, 01:46:02 PM »
Possibly!  It requires using a few cheats so we'll see.
Origin ID: Ricalynn
Current Active Stories: Artie's TS4 Dynasty || Grim Rivalries

Please read and follow the Forum Rules.

Stories: Artie | The Race | Grim Chronicles | Revenge | Licious

Offline pallyndrome

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 2590
  • The Goanna
    • Hannah Goanna
Re: Placing Dive Lots in Other Worlds
« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2013, 10:25:45 PM »
Oh I am VERY interested in this! I think Sunlit Tides is a ton more beautiful and tropical-like than what I've seen so far of Isla Paradisa (though I haven't got the game yet). I do wish I could add more islands though...

Offline Ricalynn

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 8431
  • Addicted to Dynasties? *shady eyes* Not me.
Re: Placing Dive Lots in Other Worlds
« Reply #5 on: June 25, 2013, 10:38:25 PM »
Isla Paradiso is very carribbean whereas Sunlit Tides is more Hawaiian to me.  I think it's two different types of beauty as they get their influences from different places.   

I can confirm this does work but you have to remember to go to main menu before trying to use the site.  Also make sure it's still a diving area after placing the lots.   Placement of these lots is also very important.   If you put it somewhere where there might be routing issues, your game can lag a lot.

Something to know: 

Rocky Reef is for diving level 2 and up.
Davy Jones' Locker is for diving level 4 and up.
Mermaid Grotto is for diving level 7 and up.
Pearl's Deep is for diving level 9 and up.
Origin ID: Ricalynn
Current Active Stories: Artie's TS4 Dynasty || Grim Rivalries

Please read and follow the Forum Rules.

Stories: Artie | The Race | Grim Chronicles | Revenge | Licious

Offline pallyndrome

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 2590
  • The Goanna
    • Hannah Goanna
Re: Placing Dive Lots in Other Worlds
« Reply #6 on: June 25, 2013, 11:05:04 PM »
I am really surprised that this sounds so easy. EA said it was impossible to put dive lots in other worlds because the seas are not deep enough. I wonder if we will find bugs with this method down the road.



Registered members do not see ads on this Forum. Register here.

Offline Ricalynn

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 8431
  • Addicted to Dynasties? *shady eyes* Not me.
Re: Placing Dive Lots in Other Worlds
« Reply #7 on: June 25, 2013, 11:06:22 PM »
I had serious lag earlier but I figured out that may be where I put the lot.  I'll know more through testing tomorrow.
Origin ID: Ricalynn
Current Active Stories: Artie's TS4 Dynasty || Grim Rivalries

Please read and follow the Forum Rules.

Stories: Artie | The Race | Grim Chronicles | Revenge | Licious

Offline smilesdude98

  • Llama Wrangler
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re: Placing Dive Lots in Other Worlds
« Reply #8 on: June 26, 2013, 03:55:07 PM »
I just tested placing dive lots in sunlit tides and there can be definite bugs due to the sea level not being deep enough.

For instance, to learn the diving skill I had my sim snorkel next to the placed diving spot. When he entered the lot boundaries, he starting swimming up into the air to try and match the floor elevation of the diving spot. Next, when I tried diving in the lot, my sim again starting swimming up in the air and started scuba diving...in the air. I also never saw an underwater view. Just him and some sharks throwin' a party in the sky. Fun, but not exactly the way you would expect things to work!  :P

I imagine it's just a matter of finding out where the optimal locations to place various diving spots are, but be forewarned: this can cause some interesting results!

Chuckles_82

  • Guest
Re: Placing Dive Lots in Other Worlds
« Reply #9 on: July 17, 2013, 07:26:34 PM »
There is pretty much only one place you can put a 64x64 lot in the ocean in UC. To place a dive lot from IP here, you can use the following steps:

- Enter the following cheats:

testingcheatsenabled true
enablelotlocking true
SetImportedTerrainOffset -15 (or thereabouts depending on your placement, you can experiment a little, but 15 worked close enough for me)

- Copy a dive lot from IP to the lot bin.
- In UC, use the edit town world editor to place a 64x64 lot in the sea.
- Change the lot type to 'diving spot'
- Go into build/buy on this lot, and flatten terrain to sink it below the water
- Return to edit town and place the lot from the bin.

- Enter the cheat constrainfloorelevation false

- Enter the lot and soften/level the terrain so that it is even around the edges and throughout so that sims can access it
- Drag the hammer tool across the entire lot, then undo. This places objects back on the ground instead of floating/sinking.
- Return to edit town. Make sure the lot is still zoned a diving spot, then save and return to the main menu.
- Open the saved world, and test - you should now (hopefully) have a working EA diving spot!

- To turn off all the cheats
enablelotlocking false
SetImportedTerrainOffset 0
constrainfloorelevation true
testingcheatsenabled false


Note: because of the use of TCE this is not viable for challenges.

Offline trickai

  • Llama Wrangler
  • **
  • Posts: 49
Re: Placing Dive Lots in Other Worlds
« Reply #10 on: November 10, 2013, 09:18:55 PM »
I have no clue about doing this kind of stuff.  My question, and I think the answer is probably yes after reading this thread, is if players make custom worlds now, can they include all the stuff from IP...diving, boats, all the watercraft, resorts and so on?  I am guessing yes but just wanted it confirmed.  I would love to see a couple of new worlds, big like Jericho or Union Cove, that takes advantage of all the expansions and stuff.

I would think the easiest world to test dive lots and everything else would be in sunlit tides...that is where I will attempt it at some point in the future.

 

anything