Author Topic: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge  (Read 1275122 times)

Offline Rainbow Dash

  • Immortal
  • *****
  • Posts: 688
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10325 on: July 04, 2015, 11:08:33 AM »
Quote
And yes, you do need dive lots to supermax Diving.

Okay, well on that note, here's another related issue that I want to bring up with the challenge team.

When I first began playing in Island Paradiso, by the end of the first (Sim) day the game was freezing so often that it was virtually unplayable. I came across a thread on this forum that had a lot of suggestions to help with lag & freezing issues. Following some of those suggestions, I discovered that deleting the Scott family & moving some of the other families out of their buggy houses & into workable houses made a vast improvement. Apparently the Scott family cause some major lag for some people & that seems to ring true for me.

I'm wondering if the deletion of the Scott family would be allowed as I don't think Island Paradiso will be playable for me otherwise & I really want to supermax Scuba Diving in my dynasty.

So what do the challenge team say to this, yay or nay? (I wouldn't be asking if I thought there was another workaround but I am kind of desperate to be rid of the awful lag).

Offline Trip

  • Challenge Board Assistant
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 4039
  • Oh, she wanna creep like ivy?
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10326 on: July 04, 2015, 03:53:30 PM »
Try moving them to a terrestrial home first, because the issues seem to be tied to their houseboat.
No respect, no chance, cease and desist when I chant-

Forum Rules / DecaDynasty



Registered members do not see ads on this Forum. Register here.

Offline Rainbow Dash

  • Immortal
  • *****
  • Posts: 688
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10327 on: July 04, 2015, 08:40:34 PM »
Quote
Try moving them to a terrestrial home first, because the issues seem to be tied to their houseboat.

I read on the thread that it's because they keep trying to go to a community lot that EA deleted.  :-\ But I can see why houseboats can be a problem. half of the sims that need moving are on houseboats.  >:(

I'll try that first then but if the Scott family are still screwing up my game then do I have permission to just store them in the library/bin?

Also, can I please delete the really buggy houses after moving their families, to prevent other families from moving into them in the future? I'm horrible at building & am not sure if I can fix all the problems myself plus it would also give me a few extra community lots to use.

Offline Trip

  • Challenge Board Assistant
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 4039
  • Oh, she wanna creep like ivy?
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10328 on: July 04, 2015, 09:04:39 PM »
I'll allow you nix them if they are a large problem (IP has many, many problems, not just tied to the Scotts).

Because of IP's issues, I don't see an issue with deleting the really bad residential lots. It's a fix we allow for other towns (such as Union Cove, and we never were able to bug EA about improving worlds like IP like we used to be able to with UC. :P).
No respect, no chance, cease and desist when I chant-

Forum Rules / DecaDynasty

Offline Tiamet

  • Immortal
  • *****
  • Posts: 559
  • I survived the Great Spooky Day Blizzard of 2012!
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10329 on: July 17, 2015, 07:45:07 AM »
Hey, gang!  I've got two quick questions, and I know they've been answered somewhere in here, but it's so hard to find.  If an heir starts in one career and then switches, not reaching level 10 of the first one, is that career still available for another heir?  Also, my gen 4 heir is bugged and has only 4 traits.  I don't mind playing that way, it's actually a little more challenging.  But Gwendy tells me I can put that 5th trait back in, (it didn't stick on the teen birthday).  Advice?  Thanks!

Offline Seabody

  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 5088
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10330 on: July 17, 2015, 07:47:39 AM »
I'll leave the careers question to the Challenge Team. :)

Also, my gen 4 heir is bugged and has only 4 traits.  I don't mind playing that way, it's actually a little more challenging.  But Gwendy tells me I can put that 5th trait back in, (it didn't stick on the teen birthday).  Advice?  Thanks!

That is allowed, and is a legitimate (one of the only ones) use of TCE. :)

Offline Tiamet

  • Immortal
  • *****
  • Posts: 559
  • I survived the Great Spooky Day Blizzard of 2012!
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10331 on: July 17, 2015, 08:40:20 AM »
Thanks, Seabody!

ETA: Found the ruling on the career question from Metro.   ;D



Registered members do not see ads on this Forum. Register here.

Offline dontmindme

  • Immortal
  • *****
  • Posts: 566
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10332 on: July 18, 2015, 02:27:39 PM »
Hi, guys, I was wondering if the Daycare career counted. I was thinking 'no' but I wanted to check. Thanks.

Offline Trip

  • Challenge Board Assistant
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 4039
  • Oh, she wanna creep like ivy?
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10333 on: July 18, 2015, 08:16:10 PM »
Yep. It's a special case because it's equivalent to a normal career but condensed into five levels.
No respect, no chance, cease and desist when I chant-

Forum Rules / DecaDynasty

Offline Sonshine

  • Located in the Land of 10,000 Lakes and 10, billion Mosquitoes
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 1153
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10334 on: July 22, 2015, 11:13:17 PM »
Hi again! I was away for a little while trying out Sims 4, but am getting more and more frustrated w/the emotional stuff that they stuck in there. Anyway, I'm trying to take a stab at my Simha family again. My founder has one friend who is an "old friend." The friendship bar is totally maxed out, but it just will not go to anything except old friend. Is this still considered to be a best friend since the bar is maxed out? Making 6 best friends is the last step I need for her before having her eat the ambrosia. Thanks!

Offline Deklitch

  • Nemesis of Reality
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 2408
  • Cruising the Danube, Amsterdam=>Budapest Dec 2018
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10335 on: July 23, 2015, 01:30:11 AM »
Yes, provided the bar is at the same length (or longer) than other best friends, 'old friends' count as 'best friends.

Offline Sonshine

  • Located in the Land of 10,000 Lakes and 10, billion Mosquitoes
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 1153
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10336 on: July 23, 2015, 12:20:15 PM »
Thanks!

Offline Gwendy

  • Occult
  • ****
  • Posts: 484
  • And this is why we can't have nice things.
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10337 on: September 15, 2015, 12:16:10 AM »
Hey, everyone, I'm thinking about starting up a dynasty again, and I was wondering if the Sim Game Selector 3.0 mod (to unselect the ITF expansion) was okay to use. Tia tells me that it is, as long as I didn't put ITF back in later on, but I just wanted to make sure before I did anything.
The Hideous Immortal Dynasty

I think those pictures gave me heartburn.
-Shirin's roommate's Seal of Approval
------------

Offline Trip

  • Challenge Board Assistant
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 4039
  • Oh, she wanna creep like ivy?
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10338 on: September 25, 2015, 11:43:46 PM »
Sorry for the wait. Amazing what can slip past my radar.

Insert joke here about how mum knows best about these things, but yes...mostly. You can use the Game Selector to make any selection of any EPs/SPs, as long as the selection remains consistent throughout your dynasty.
No respect, no chance, cease and desist when I chant-

Forum Rules / DecaDynasty

Offline Squark

  • Llama Wrangler
  • **
  • Posts: 71
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10339 on: September 27, 2015, 03:48:05 PM »
So, after a long break, I'm considering trying the Immortal Dynasty Challenge again. One question- Is replacing Sunset Valley's stadium with the one from Starlight Shores acceptable?


Offline Squark

  • Llama Wrangler
  • **
  • Posts: 71
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10341 on: September 27, 2015, 04:03:40 PM »
Are you trying to add the big venue?
Indeed. I am thinking that gen 5 or 6 might be a magician, and sunset Valley is hilly enough that it's hard to place the 64x64 Big Show Venue.

Offline KRae

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 2359
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10342 on: September 27, 2015, 04:31:18 PM »
I don't know if they'll allow this or not. I recently completed the magician career just using Flying V's. So if they don't let you place it, you do have options.

Offline Trip

  • Challenge Board Assistant
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 4039
  • Oh, she wanna creep like ivy?
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10343 on: September 27, 2015, 05:16:08 PM »
No replacing the venue. And I've topped the Showtime professions with just Performance Park. You'll be fine.
No respect, no chance, cease and desist when I chant-

Forum Rules / DecaDynasty

Offline Squark

  • Llama Wrangler
  • **
  • Posts: 71
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10344 on: September 27, 2015, 06:23:25 PM »
No replacing the venue. And I've topped the Showtime professions with just Performance Park. You'll be fine.
Fair Enough. There's a somewhat confusing statement on the matter in Ricalynn's post on edit town in Dynasties, which is why I asked. I guess the intent is the substitution can be made on a case by case basis.


(Relevant Quote)
Quote
Can I use Edit Town to replace the City Hall in Sunset Valley with the combination one from Bridgeport?
 --No. This is to be done on a case by case basis with approval from Metro, Ratchie, Pam or myself. Some rabbit holes can be replaced if there is a bug involved or to add something to the town. With the exception of empty lots, all other lots from a town must remain unchanged until such a time as your Sim family owns it and then makes changes via build mode.  If you want to combine rabbit holes just to create more room for other buildings, think of what buildings have no value to a dynasty.  Extra libraries, gyms, casinos and parks don't actually help with skills or requirements most of the time so if you still need room for lots that do help with requirements, think about trimming those down first.  Example of allowed replacements:  You can replace the stadium in Sunset Valley with the Binder Clips stadium from Starlight Shores because it's both a stadium and a big show venue. Or if you are experiencing the combined building bug - you can ask permission to replace the combined building with two separate rabbit holes.
Dynasties are about strategy and part of that strategy is the town you choose.   All towns should still look like themselves once you've left Edit Town to start playing your game."

Offline Trip

  • Challenge Board Assistant
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 4039
  • Oh, she wanna creep like ivy?
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10345 on: September 27, 2015, 07:22:08 PM »
Rica's given a lot of conflicting statements on that rule. I don't really feel like searching every dynasty thread for them, and I can't really ask her now either. Basically, I can't remember us allowing that in practice, and I want to err on the side of "nope."

The combined rabbithole thing is a little different, but it's pretty rare for it to be it allowed in an Immortal Dynasty. If it comes up (next to impossible in Sunset Valley), we'll discuss it then.
No respect, no chance, cease and desist when I chant-

Forum Rules / DecaDynasty

Offline Squark

  • Llama Wrangler
  • **
  • Posts: 71
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10346 on: September 28, 2015, 11:11:08 AM »
I wasn't disputing your ruling, and I'm sorry if it came off that way. I was just trying to explain why I was asking (And it turns out I asked last time because of that same passage).

Anyway, I've started my dynasty now, but I've got a technical request- I was experimenting with MoveObjects On, and used it to move a sculpting station that had a sculpture in progress because I didn't want it outside. I didn't realize this would leave the sculpture behind, so now I have a partially chipped away block of clay on the lot I can't delete. Do I have permission to enable buydebug and testingcheatsenabled to get rid of it, or do I need to just leave it off in a far corner of the lot/bury it in a basement where it won't be an eyesore? I can post a screenshot of the issue if you'd like.


EDIT: Speaking of screenshots, does the site still have a gallery, or do I need to upload images to an image hosting site?

Offline Trip

  • Challenge Board Assistant
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 4039
  • Oh, she wanna creep like ivy?
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10347 on: September 28, 2015, 11:55:06 AM »
You can use cheats to delete it. You shouldn't need buydebug, but testingcheats -> shift+ctrl+click the block and delete it.

You have to use an external image host. We used to have a gallery hosted by Carl, but it stopped accepting new submissions and members sometime last year. I'm pretty familiar with Imgur, if you have any questions about that. And plenty of people here have knowledge on other hosts.
No respect, no chance, cease and desist when I chant-

Forum Rules / DecaDynasty

Offline Squark

  • Llama Wrangler
  • **
  • Posts: 71
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10348 on: September 28, 2015, 12:48:22 PM »
Hmm... I'm not able to interact with the lump of clay outside of build mode, and clicking on it in build mode only moves it around. Ah well. Cautionary tale, I guess. I'll just hide it in the roof where it will be out of sight.

I appreciate your assistance. :)

Offline Annabec

  • Llama Wrangler
  • **
  • Posts: 79
Re: The Sims 3 Immortal Dynasty Challenge
« Reply #10349 on: September 28, 2015, 12:55:48 PM »
Can you put it back on the sculpting station? That's worked for me in the past, and you can delete/finish it from live mode