Author Topic: How do gems work?  (Read 7559 times)

Offline glitterderpes

• Nooboo
How do gems work?
« on: July 03, 2014, 07:07:08 PM »
Not really sure if this would be the right place to post it. But since I'm asking related to alchemy I thought I'd post here.
I'm not really good at utilising the games to their fullest potential, all the fun new things I've never tried or "maxed out". Gem cutting is one of them. I got the machine but my sims would keep putting gems into it whenever I wasn't looking and I've no idea what it does/what the point is. So I guess I'll formulate my question(s) like this:

What is the difference between gem dust and cut gems? The difference in use, that is.
Can I use a cut gem in an alchemy potion?
Is it more economical to use gem dust? Do I get more gem dust from one found stone than I get cuts? Like, I'd get 4xdust but only 1xemerald cut topaz from a found piece of topaz.

I'm sorry if I'm using the wrong names or stuff like that, I'm playing in a different language and sometimes I have difficulty figuring out which is which in English. And sorry if it's in the wrong place (it's my first question)

Danielle Haydis

Re: How do gems work?
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2014, 12:36:27 AM »
Hi there and welcome to the Forum :)

What is the difference between gem dust and cut gems? The difference in use, that is.
I'm assuming you mean their use in alchemy. There's no difference actually. You can even use an uncut gem for alchemy and it won't affect anything.

In general use, gems are mostly used to make some quick money. You can sell them at the consignment store. Cut gems are more expensive than gem dust so, if you wanted, you could sell the cut gem and keep the gem dust for alchemy. More info here

Can I use a cut gem in an alchemy potion?
Yes, you can.

Is it more economical to use gem dust? Do I get more gem dust from one found stone than I get cuts? Like, I'd get 4xdust but only 1xemerald cut topaz from a found piece of topaz.