Author Topic: Help with raising terrain by 1 or 12 (no, 16) clicks reliably - PARTLY RESOLVED  (Read 1391 times)

Offline Sita

  • Llama Wrangler
  • **
  • Posts: 45
I'm not sure if this is the right place to ask.

It's a BUILD problem. I don't seem to be able to raise terrain JUST ONE CLICK. Every mouse click seems to raise a different amount, usually between 3 and 6 clicks. I can lower terrain easily using the stairs to get 4 clicks at a time. But how do I raise? Either by ONE click or by 12 clicks? (a whole floor)?

Has anyone found a workaround for this?

I'm satisfied it's not my mouse, as I've used various mouses and got the same issue with all. It more or less stopped me building for a long time. It's really an issue if you want to do anything complex, like ramps, or CFE builds.

Offline Twinmum

  • Building inspector and trouble shooter
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 2898
Re: Help with raising terrain by 1 or 12 clicks reliably
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2015, 05:41:46 PM »
It's been some time since I played Sims 3, but I know what you are talking about. I'll have a play around later today (just having my wake up coffee at the moment lol) and see if I can recall how it was done or if there is a way to control it.
Have you read the Forum Rules?
And please try to remember Capitals, Commas and Apostrophes when you post.
Check out  Twinmum's creations on the Gallery for Sims 4 creations and Twinsom Realty for my Sims 3 Creations
For something non Sims - check out the miniatures I make at MiniisByTwinmum

< br/>
Registered members do not see ads on this Forum. Register here.

Offline Twinmum

  • Building inspector and trouble shooter
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 2898
Re: Help with raising terrain by 1 or 12 clicks reliably
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2015, 03:06:52 AM »
I found out how to do it. Was easy to remember once I started playing around again in game.
 First thing to remember, it''s three clicks that the stairs take, not four. When you start on ground, you need three lots of stairs to go from the ground to where the floor of a basement (using a foundation) would be, but you also need a set of stairs to go from the ground to the top of the foundation, so that's four sets of steps, so each set is three clicks not four.

Now to raise ground just one click...

In terrain tools, select the raise terrain button and select either the medium or the large square brush shape. The small square will only raise a corner, butyou want to raise more than that at once. Move the brush softness slider all the way to the right. Now just tap the mouse button to raise the land. It may take a few tries, but once you have done it a few times, it will work a lot more often than not. With just that slight tap on the mouse button the area raised will be equal to one click. You can play around and do that twice more in the same place (you might have to level it out so there is more area each time) After doing that three times, put some stairs from the top level and they should end where the ground level was originally.
 Hope this is clear, if yu would like some screenshots, let me know and I can take some for you.

Have you read the Forum Rules?
And please try to remember Capitals, Commas and Apostrophes when you post.
Check out  Twinmum's creations on the Gallery for Sims 4 creations and Twinsom Realty for my Sims 3 Creations
For something non Sims - check out the miniatures I make at MiniisByTwinmum

Offline Sita

  • Llama Wrangler
  • **
  • Posts: 45
Re: Help with raising terrain by 1 or 12 clicks reliably
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2015, 12:03:42 PM »
ah numbers never were my strong point LOL.

So it's 16 clicks or steps for a whole floor.

I did discover one thing, which is that by laying down two walls parallel to one another, raising the ground between then and then with CFE and the level tool going from the TOP of the walls across the raised ground, you get the middle ground to the same level as the TOP of the walls, so I have the 16 clicks one now :)

I'll experiment with the single clicks some more. Thank you Twinmum!

Offline Twinmum

  • Building inspector and trouble shooter
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 2898
ah numbers never were my strong point LOL.

So it's 16 clicks or steps for a whole floor.

Actually, it's 16 steps to a whole floor BUT only 12 clicks... One step does not equal one click!
Another way to raise the level just one click is to use the smallest brush (square or round) and have the strength slider all the way to the right. Tap the mouse button and it will raise one corner point one click. Use the level terrain tool and mouse over one of the squares that touch the raised point. Now, keeping within that square move the mouse to the corner diagonally oposite the raised corner and click. That will raise that one square to be level with the corner that was raised one click.
Have you read the Forum Rules?
And please try to remember Capitals, Commas and Apostrophes when you post.
Check out  Twinmum's creations on the Gallery for Sims 4 creations and Twinsom Realty for my Sims 3 Creations
For something non Sims - check out the miniatures I make at MiniisByTwinmum

Offline Sita

  • Llama Wrangler
  • **
  • Posts: 45
That's the problem.

Tapping mouse button raises me more than one click.

Offline Twinmum

  • Building inspector and trouble shooter
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 2898
Have you tried changing the sensitivity of your mouse? Also, are you sure it's raising more than one click? Remember, 1 click is higher than 1 step.
Have you read the Forum Rules?
And please try to remember Capitals, Commas and Apostrophes when you post.
Check out  Twinmum's creations on the Gallery for Sims 4 creations and Twinsom Realty for my Sims 3 Creations
For something non Sims - check out the miniatures I make at MiniisByTwinmum

< br/>
Registered members do not see ads on this Forum. Register here.

Offline Sita

  • Llama Wrangler
  • **
  • Posts: 45
Yeah. Thanks for trying. I've been fighting this for ages, and I was hoping there might be a workaround.
The single light tap still produces a variable height rise, whatever I do.

Mouse works fine, and sensitively, for all other applications, so I don't think that's the problem. Also I have some dim memory of this changing with a patch, well what a surprise.

I'll struggle on.

Offline Sita

  • Llama Wrangler
  • **
  • Posts: 45
OK I finally found out what's wrong here. It's not me that's doolally. Sims 3 doesn't work quite the same as Sims 2.
I found this comment in a tutorial on Mod the Sims 2 by Plasticbox, a great builder.

 "(TS2 users: don't bother trying to make an "8-click deep hole", it won't work. Clicks aren't a precise measurement in TS3 anymore.)"

Phew!
The trick with using stairs to LOWER still works, for and 8-click hole it's two sets of steps, and so on.

 

anything