Author Topic: Another reason to test houses before uploading  (Read 2114 times)

Offline Twinmum

  • Building inspector and trouble shooter
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 2898
Another reason to test houses before uploading
« on: November 22, 2011, 03:11:58 AM »
You've seen my little rant about testing houses before uploading to make sure everything works. Well here is another reason to test. This one is aimed at people (like me) who sometimes use the constrainfloorelevation cheat.
I've been working on a little beach house that was elevated off the ground a bit. I finished it this afternoon and shared the file. Then it came to testing. I was going to just have my building inspectors move into the house I built and test that, but decided that it should be done properly. I deleted the house, installed the house from the share file and placed in on an empty block and this is the result!



The house itself is still on the same level as it was, but all the supports have risen back up through the ground and now come through the floor.

Just another learning curve  ::)

Norma
Have you read the Forum Rules?
And please try to remember Capitals, Commas and Apostrophes when you post.
Check out  Twinmum's creations on the Gallery for Sims 4 creations and Twinsom Realty for my Sims 3 Creations
For something non Sims - check out the miniatures I make at MiniisByTwinmum

Offline pallyndrome

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 2590
  • The Goanna
    • Hannah Goanna
Re: Another reason to test houses before uploading
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2011, 03:13:43 AM »
Can you fix it? Those poles really do look odd  :o



Registered members do not see ads on this Forum. Register here.

Offline Twinmum

  • Building inspector and trouble shooter
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 2898
Re: Another reason to test houses before uploading
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2011, 03:16:28 AM »
I'm not sure, I was just about to tackle it now. Seriously, though, I'm thinking, tear down and rebuild on foundation piers instead. I just thought the columns might be a different look.. but not quite that different  :D
Have you read the Forum Rules?
And please try to remember Capitals, Commas and Apostrophes when you post.
Check out  Twinmum's creations on the Gallery for Sims 4 creations and Twinsom Realty for my Sims 3 Creations
For something non Sims - check out the miniatures I make at MiniisByTwinmum

Offline Gogowars329

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 3483
Re: Another reason to test houses before uploading
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2011, 03:40:05 AM »
It's definitely different... Foundations definitely will look better if you can't fix it.
Gogowars Inc - The place to find all of my wonderful Sims 3 creations

Chuckles_82

  • Guest
Re: Another reason to test houses before uploading
« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2011, 04:33:30 AM »
Did you have CFE still active when you placed it?

Offline Twinmum

  • Building inspector and trouble shooter
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 2898
Re: Another reason to test houses before uploading
« Reply #5 on: November 22, 2011, 04:39:15 AM »
No I make it a habit of turning all cheats off before I save, even if I think I have turned them off.  Plus, I even got out of the game because it didn't want to recognize the fact that the house was installed.
Not to worry, the fix has been a lot easier than I expected. I was able to remove the columns and build a foundation underneath. Now I'm just tidying up floors that lost their colour. I should still be able to test and upload before I go to bed.. providing the test doesn't show some other problem.

Norma
Have you read the Forum Rules?
And please try to remember Capitals, Commas and Apostrophes when you post.
Check out  Twinmum's creations on the Gallery for Sims 4 creations and Twinsom Realty for my Sims 3 Creations
For something non Sims - check out the miniatures I make at MiniisByTwinmum

Chuckles_82

  • Guest
Re: Another reason to test houses before uploading
« Reply #6 on: November 22, 2011, 06:03:48 AM »
Awesome. The reason I ask is that I have had a similar problem, only it is the windows that move up when placing the lot again. I can't remember if I found a solution or if the problem resolved itself.



Registered members do not see ads on this Forum. Register here.

Offline Twinmum

  • Building inspector and trouble shooter
  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 2898
Re: Another reason to test houses before uploading
« Reply #7 on: November 22, 2011, 06:20:58 AM »
Did you have CFE still active when you placed it?
You did mean when I placed the original house didn't you?

Anyway, I removed the columns and activated CFE and built the foundation underneath. That brought the floor down a bit to rest on the foundation. What was weird though, was all the furnishings plus doors and windows were still up where they were originally. Then I had to go around and delete each item, then undo the delete. Once I hit undo, the items returned but at the lower level with the rest of the house. Even the roof was up in the air, so I just hit remove all roofs and then undo.

weird floating furniture


So all is right now I think. I'm now testing the new file.
Have you read the Forum Rules?
And please try to remember Capitals, Commas and Apostrophes when you post.
Check out  Twinmum's creations on the Gallery for Sims 4 creations and Twinsom Realty for my Sims 3 Creations
For something non Sims - check out the miniatures I make at MiniisByTwinmum