Author Topic: Sims 4 with NVIDIA Geforce GTX 960M  (Read 2087 times)

Offline taxation_is_theft

  • NPC
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Sims 4 with NVIDIA Geforce GTX 960M
« on: December 26, 2017, 02:27:57 PM »
So, after about 2 days of frenetic Googling and stuff, I'm finally making an account just to ask this:

My laptop has a NVIDIA Geforce GTX 960M. It is more than sufficient to run the game. I have the latest 388.71 NVIDIA drivers. I have both sims4 exes set to run using the NVIDIA GPU. My DxDiag output is: https://pastebin.com/APG3xzRQ

When I mess around with the files, this is a section of the GraphicsCards.sgr file in the bin folder:
card 0x1618 "NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970M" $cardLevelUber $resolutionHigh
card 0x13D9 "NVIDIA GeForce GTX 965M" $cardLevelHigh $resolutionHigh
card 0x1619 "NVIDIA GeForce GTX 965M" $cardLevelHigh $resolutionHigh
card 0x1427 "NVIDIA GeForce GTX 965M" $cardLevelHigh $resolutionHigh
card 0x139A "NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M" $cardLevelHigh $resolutionHigh
card 0x1347 "NVIDIA GeForce GTX 940M" $cardLevelMedium $resolutionHigh

It can be clearly seen that my card is missing from that list, even though cards inferior and superior to mine are present.

Can somebody send me a copy of their Sims 4 GraphicsCards and GraphicsRules files that have my card included? Or offer some other sage advice?

Offline MrsFlynn

  • Admin Assistant
  • Administrator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 5267
Re: Sims 4 with NVIDIA Geforce GTX 960M
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2017, 06:07:02 PM »
I've attached the graphics files for the GTX 960M.

Download and unzip. You can overwrite the current files with it. You may need to load the game to main menu and exit to make the Config.log file be aware of the change. Then the Config.log file should be able to say "Found: 1, Matched: 1" After this, the game should recognize the graphics card.

GraphicRules.sgr doesn't need to be changed but it's there too.
New Members, Welcome!! We hope you enjoy the forum!!  Thank you for visiting!!
Need Help? Check our Member FAQs Here. * -- Read and follow the Forum Rules, please! *



Registered members do not see ads on this Forum. Register here.

Offline taxation_is_theft

  • NPC
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Sims 4 with NVIDIA Geforce GTX 960M
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2017, 07:21:40 PM »
Nope, didn't work. Same error message. This is after copying over the files.

Offline MrsFlynn

  • Admin Assistant
  • Administrator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 5267
Re: Sims 4 with NVIDIA Geforce GTX 960M
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2017, 09:22:46 PM »
Edited the GraphicsCards.sgr file with the correct Device ID (0x139B) and added this line to it:

card 0x139B "NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M" $cardLevelUber $resolutionHigh

Check the new zip file above. GraphicRules.sgr doesn't need to be changed but it's there too.
New Members, Welcome!! We hope you enjoy the forum!!  Thank you for visiting!!
Need Help? Check our Member FAQs Here. * -- Read and follow the Forum Rules, please! *

Offline taxation_is_theft

  • NPC
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Sims 4 with NVIDIA Geforce GTX 960M
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2017, 01:41:22 AM »
Much obliged, that work. Do you have any idea why this could've happened?

Offline MrsFlynn

  • Admin Assistant
  • Administrator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 5267
Re: Sims 4 with NVIDIA Geforce GTX 960M
« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2017, 02:13:06 AM »
Other than they just didn't add it, I don't know.
New Members, Welcome!! We hope you enjoy the forum!!  Thank you for visiting!!
Need Help? Check our Member FAQs Here. * -- Read and follow the Forum Rules, please! *

 

anything