Author Topic: Want to install more packs but don't touch excisting saves (Solved)  (Read 1118 times)

Offline ModHunter

• Townie
Hello.

The things I'm asking for here might be impossible but as I'm not that technical I don't know. Please be aware of that.  :-[

Now I play the Sims 4. And I love it! I might be the only one but still. I have the game installed on two computers, a laptop (that tends to run quite hot) and a desktop of random but OK parts. Now, these games are strictly offline from Origin and do not get any updates whatsoever. And I want to keep it that way, for reasons. But on the downside, these games are very limited. I want to install more packs but I do not want to gamble with the existing saves. And here is the problem.

Setting up a third computer would not be an issue. I have a powerful one already,  holding installs of the Sims 2 and 3. Windows 7 is not that secure in 2022 so I have to get another harddrive/SSD and install Windows 10 on it. Or use my regular desktop (dual boot with Windows 10 where I play TS4 today) and try to get Sims 4 to work under Linux Mint 19. But there is another problem. Me being overprotective over my game installs.

A FAQ guide here on this forum board says that games can not be transferred between Origin accounts. This is OK and I do understand the idea behind it. But it makes the situation difficult. Making a new account might be possible but paying for packs I already have once more does not feel so great. (Especially as I did get the base game back when it was free).

So yeah, that's what is spinning in my head right now. Maybe you can give me some sort of input on these things. If the idea is far to stupid, feel free to tell me so so I can clean it out of my head.  :-\
Unpopular opinion: I like the Sims 4

Offline MrsFlynn

• Admin Assistant
  • Administrator
  • Watcher
Re: Want to install more packs but don't touch excisting saves
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2022, 08:09:26 PM »